We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
33
28
23
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
28
23
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tar pits full hookups rv camping carpinteria state beach walking distance generator proximity
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed there two times ( Sept 2016 and April 2017). Absolutely amazing place,great staff, clean beach and spectacular view. The only one complain: there is hard to get a spot for weekend, but if you get lucky you will come back at this place many times)

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Анна М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed in the Santa Rosa section in a motor home with full hookups. It was so peaceful! We had great neighbors! Sunsets were breathtaking! Visited the tar pits and enjoyed the visitor center about the local history. It's walking distance to town. Walking along the bluffs is fun.

Room Tip: There are places to camp for tents and motor homes.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This was my first attempt at a car-free camping trip and all in all, we were able to do it pretty smoothly. For those who might be interested in trying the same thing....

We camped at Carpinteria State Beach. We chose this location because it is located literally within a block or two of the small Amtrak station at Carpinteria, a single-seat ride from Union Station in DTLA on the Pacific Surfliner ... but just as easy of a ride from any of the other train stations along the route. (Of note, the long-haul Coast Starlight does not stop at Carpinteria.)

We were a party of two adults and one child and were able to make the trip with two military-surplus MOLLE backpacks, a large tent backpack (we opted to bring our large six-person REI tent to see whether it was doable), and a small kid's backpack.

We avoided bringing lots of heavy fresh foods that typically require a cooler and ice and instead focused on freeze-dried items that could easily be prepared on a campstove or firepit with water. Because the campground is close to the city, we even had a couple meals at local restaurants instead of cooking at our site.

The campsites were not heavily wooded but do offer some tree cover though not much shrubbery. Tent and RV camping both seem popular here. Note that you will hear the passing Amtrak trains on the adjacent tracks.

Anyway, it was probably one of most hassle-free camping trips we've taken and I'd recommend it for car-free SoCal folks who'd like to get out of town for the weekend without going backcountry. Keep an eye out for Amtrak sale prices and/or use Amtrak's discounts for AAA or National Association of Railroad Passengers. I think both require a few days' advance purchase. Kids also travel for half price. (If you're planning on travelling on a busy weekend, you might want to consider buying a business-class ticket as the Pacific Surfliner is an unreserved train meaning if it's really busy you may have to stand for part of the way. Business class is always reserved and you're guaranteed to get a seat on the train you book.)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank AlikaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We found the campground wonderful, especially the proximity to the beach and hiking trail, not far from shopping. The price was right, reservations recommended, a must in fact if you want your choice of sites.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We went to the state beach here in Carpinteria yesterday and it was great. Not to crowded and the weather was great. Small waves and Sandy beach. They claim it is the world's safest beach.
We will return. Would I recommend it to others. NO I would just a soon nobody goes there so I can have it all to myself.
No just kidding. Recommend for all. They even have a wheelchair for handicap when there are life guards.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank BCRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews