We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch with Great Service”
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Known for its big, bold flavors, Rio Grill has been part of local Carmel lore for over 32 years. We turn up the flavor serving local, fresh eats with a southwestern flair in wonderfully unpredictable ways, earning distinguished culinary awards and impressing food critics near and far. Opened in 1983 as a coastal counterpart to Mustard's Grill and soon-to-be Fog City Diner, Rio Grill turned indie in 1988 and never looked back, winning numerous reader's choice awards and inspiring food critics near and far. A permanent fixture on the Carmel food scene, Rio Grill is located at the gateway to one of the world's most celebrated coast-hugging drives - Highway 1. Rio Grill is known as the place for eating, drinking and carrying on. A high energy institution for locals, we're on a first name basis with many customers and have become the "go to" place for birthdays and special occasions - drop by and join the party!
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The servers work together, so someone is always coming by to fill your drink and check on you. I had the Huevos Rancheros on blue corn tortillas. It was delicious. The eggs were cooked perfectly (no runny whites, but still soft in the yolk). It was very flavorful, but not spicy. My husband had the burger with the works. He liked it, but ordered just a little pink and it came with too much pink for him. Their iced tea is a blend of green tea and black tea and comes already sweetened with Stevia. It had quite a heavy citrus taste, so I exchanged it for a soda. Great decorations in the interior. It's located in a busy shopping center.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio O, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

We're glad the Huevos Ranchos was delicious and you had great service too! We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to welcome you back. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

It's funny. When I think of restaurants in a shopping center, I am suspicious. Not! One of the best dining experiences. Great staff. Inventive dishes. Delicious. Can't ask for more. The website does not do them justice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio O, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for the nice review! It's so wonderful to hear you had the best meal with us and great service too, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

This restaurant would not make it anywhere but Carmel. The service was so-so, the food portions were small and unflavorful and the prices were too high. We were there for lunch when they had a Taco Salad as their special. While we were there, 2 different diners complained that there was no lettuce in the Taco Salad and asked for a separate plate of lettuce. I might add that this very small Taco Salad was $16.00. There other special was Beef stew which we ordered. This was nothing more than beef and vegetable soup. Diners in tourist towns have to stand up and not accept this type of restaurant just because of where it is.
We will not return to this restaurant.

Thank Straveler1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio O, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

We're very sorry about the disappointing lunch with us and that the portions were small and you felt the price was too high. We value your feedback as we look into all the reviews we receive to see how we can improve. We apologize for missing the mark and hope you'd consider giving us another try in the future so we can ensure you have a wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Food was good, but service was slow and poor. Had to ask for water and bread three times. Bread was served on table without bread plates and water glasses never refilled. Time came to check out and waited 15 minutes for check.

Thank amp736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio O, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

We're glad you had good food and very sorry that the service was lacking. This is not the norm, nor the experience we want for our guests but we dropped the ball with you and apologize this happened. We hope you will join us again so we can ensure you have a wonderful time, thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant..in a strip mall but don’t let location deter you...food was really good, Tex mex with many eclectic choices. Our group of 9 sampled the smoked chicken, short ribs, ny prime, artichokes and poblano. Atmosphere was great with good artwork.

Thank unhappypatr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio O, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for the review! We're glad you all enjoyed so many of our dishes and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing