We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Monte Verde”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The Monte Verde room we stayed in was on the courtyard side which allowed us to hear a water fountain 24/7! The room and bathroom was extremely clean and fresh. A decanter of Sherry with beautiful glasses greeted us. The bathroom was small but adequate. The only thing missing in this room was a chair or two for relaxing. Loved the a.m. breakfast delivered daily in a basket, the staff was warm and more than accommodating! We will return next year, as we always do for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed for five nights and we were welcomed initially by Randy who was really helpful and friendly. The room was cosy and spotlessly clean - it became 'home' whilst we stayed in delightful Carmel. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple who own it. They even gave us bottled water to take into Monterey when we went to enquire about parking there. The situation just off the Main Street was really good - very quiet. The decanter of sherry in the room was a lovely personal touch. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hugobear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent three-night stay at the Monte Verde Inn. Our room was exceptionally clean, the location is unbelievably convenient for strolling the town and getting to the beach, and we were especially pleased with the morning breakfast basket delivered personally to our door with the bagel and English muffin still piping hot! We enjoyed eating it while sitting in the quaint courtyard, and also appreciated the wine and cheese spread every afternoon. Randy, the manager, was unbelievably helpful in making local restaurant recommendations and following through getting us reservations. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Some are quite small (but quaint). Call for your reservation to find out exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRichPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The service was wonderful. Randy at the front desk was extremely friendly and hosted free wine and cheese happy hours on Friday and Saturday. They serve a nice breakfast basket in the morning and it's a great location right right between the beach and the town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crazymonkey43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Carmel is beautiful and so is the hotel Monte Verde, but what truly is important is a first impression by the person welcoming you when you arrive. We were cheerfully greeted by Randy. He made US feel very special during our 3 day stay at the pretty hotel.

We talked restaurants, drinks and so on. He would always ask when we came back how it was and what we had.. There was no attitude with Randy-he truly enjoys engaging with his guests and wants everyone to enjoy themselves. I have a feeling that's how Randy makes his family and friends feel when they visit him at his own home. Monte Verde is very lucky to have such a knowledgable, friendly professional- taking care of things for them.
The rooms were nice and a thoughtful breakfast basket arrived each morning for us to indulge in. Also, not to be forgotten is the large decanter of sherry and chocolates on the mantle-so delicious!
We will definitely stay here again when we come back!
Jill

Room Tip: try not to get #5 it's next to the entrance/front desk and you can hear very well between the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillneff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
931 reviews
0.3 km away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
2.2 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0 km away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#18 of 24 in Carmel
596 reviews
0.4 km away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 26 in Carmel
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: 2 SW of Ocean Ave. on Monte Verde St., #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: €145 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing