We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
190
92
25
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
92
25
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast basket yogurt each morning hard boiled eggs wine and cheese claw foot tub decanter of sherry small dog carmel by the sea separate shower perfect location ocean avenue english muffin bottled water sister property short walk to the beach queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed for five nights and we were welcomed initially by Randy who was really helpful and friendly. The room was cosy and spotlessly clean - it became 'home' whilst we stayed in delightful Carmel. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple who own it. They even gave us bottled water to take into Monterey when we went to enquire about parking there. The situation just off the Main Street was really good - very quiet. The decanter of sherry in the room was a lovely personal touch. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hugobear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent three-night stay at the Monte Verde Inn. Our room was exceptionally clean, the location is unbelievably convenient for strolling the town and getting to the beach, and we were especially pleased with the morning breakfast basket delivered personally to our door with the bagel and English muffin still piping hot! We enjoyed eating it while sitting in the quaint courtyard, and also appreciated the wine and cheese spread every afternoon. Randy, the manager, was unbelievably helpful in making local restaurant recommendations and following through getting us reservations. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Some are quite small (but quaint). Call for your reservation to find out exactly which rooms are available.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRichPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The service was wonderful. Randy at the front desk was extremely friendly and hosted free wine and cheese happy hours on Friday and Saturday. They serve a nice breakfast basket in the morning and it's a great location right right between the beach and the town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crazymonkey43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Carmel is beautiful and so is the hotel Monte Verde, but what truly is important is a first impression by the person welcoming you when you arrive. We were cheerfully greeted by Randy. He made US feel very special during our 3 day stay at the pretty hotel.

We talked restaurants, drinks and so on. He would always ask when we came back how it was and what we had.. There was no attitude with Randy-he truly enjoys engaging with his guests and wants everyone to enjoy themselves. I have a feeling that's how Randy makes his family and friends feel when they visit him at his own home. Monte Verde is very lucky to have such a knowledgable, friendly professional- taking care of things for them.
The rooms were nice and a thoughtful breakfast basket arrived each morning for us to indulge in. Also, not to be forgotten is the large decanter of sherry and chocolates on the mantle-so delicious!
We will definitely stay here again when we come back!
Jill

Room Tip: try not to get #5 it's next to the entrance/front desk and you can hear very well between the walls.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillneff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We've been vacationing in Carmel for years, but never stayed at the Monte Verde Inn before now. Our friend Randy (the new concierge at the Monte Verde) suggested that we try it, and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Located just off Ocean Ave. (Carmel's main street), this inn is only a couple of blocks from Carmel Beach and just steps away from the downtown shops. We stayed in the upstairs condo room, which was spacious and had a great view from the balcony (see the attached photo). And best of all, it was wonderfully relaxing. The Monte Verde's location on the outskirts of the shopping district makes it much quieter than other hotels located in its center. We also enjoyed the breakfast basket delivered to the room every morning, full of bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, and orange juice. We stayed there just to try something new, but by the time we left, we knew that the Monte Verde would be our first choice for lodging whenever we visit Carmel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Reeveseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews