We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
359
163
43
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
163
43
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar clint eastwood sheep grazing tennis club meadow view rocking chairs farm house prime rib honeymoon cottage carmel river beach point lobos beautiful grounds three nights the pacific ocean gas fireplace pastries continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Absolutely gorgeous flowers everywhere you look! So unique and huge! I could not stop taking pictures. We stayed in the Farmhouse - room 13. It was fine. Near the office, but you could not hear any noise from that area. It is perhaps not the most picturesque of the rooms, and the bathroom was a bit small, but it was in the best price range for us.

For such a lovely area, the prices at this hotel are very reasonable - especially for Carmel. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included - lots of variety and plenty of food. The hotel is not really within walking distance of downtown - at least not for us, as we didn't want to risk trying to head home once we had walked all over. But the drive is short and there are areas to park a car in town.

If you don't mind spending more, I would think some of the views from the other rooms might be nicer, but I think most furniture is about the same. I would definitely recommend this place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If you want to dine in their restaurant, they will help you get a reservation at the front desk.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Aggie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Really cool place. Rooms are large and most have outdoor space. The setting is really insane. Really lush, cool restaurant and there are sheep everywhere. A little noisy in the room but nothing that bothered us too much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JW1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Accommodations are not recommended and we definitely will NOT return.

First question I wish I'd asked when booking our recent stay here: "is there a wedding event being held here during our stay?" If so, and if you're not going to that wedding here at the Mission Ranch motel, I say keep looking and don't get ripped off like we did. Here's why: For $319 per night including taxes, you get a cheap motel room with dated (not rustic) low end bath fixtures, hvac that doesn't work, a cheap ventless gas fireplace, dusty linens, an uncomfortable bed mattress and room furnishings in dire need of replacement, spotty free WiFi and less than basic cable tv that doesn't work, a surly millennial office staff that could have been hired away from a fast food restaurant and a disagreeable motel manager named Sue, chumpy loud restaurant tourists everywhere NOT staying here who've never seen sheep in a meadow, trying to overpay for so
-so food and a view. This isn't a hotel or an inn, it's a cheap motel with a great view from every room's deck or patio, and an ideal location in Carmel. That's what you're paying for. And it's absolute chaos when there's a dorky wedding. You will find parking impossible during a wedding, and be forced to listen to really bad loud wedding dj music from 4:30 to 10pm. Parking is easy when there's no wedding. This was not disclosed when booking and resulted in a miserable stay.

My advice: Skip the cheap low quality free continental breakfast with bad coffee at the tennis shop, and get a wonderful breakfast instead at Carmel Belle. Then, double back and enjoy the glorious Point Lobos state park before it gets too crowded.

Bottom line review is that the intrusive Saturday wedding ruined one third of our stay, we feel ripped off, and the rest of our uneventful stay here had us looking forward to leaving this mediocre establishment and never returning.

So book here if you must, as long as you're aware of this. I wish we had spent $250 more per night and stayed at the fine Hyatt Carmel Highlands instead like we often have. These facts are true. No thanks to motel manager Sue.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RedditModerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed here on our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was welcoming and cheerful. The grounds are beautiful and you can see across the Carmel River over to Point Lobos State Reserve and the hills of the Carmel highlands. Was very quiet for a busy hotel. Restaurant is very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This picture and Instagram-perfect place is a must visit for brunch. Although busy, you do not feel rushed to leave. Come spend a Sunday morning here and you will be happy the rest of the week! They do not take reservations for brunch so come early!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews