We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy walk to day's activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy walk to day's activities”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

1. Inn keeper called in a favor to get us in the restaurant he recommended after we failed to get a reservation. 2. Initial greeting at the door when we arrived was most welcoming and made us feel comfortable. 3. Cookies and wine --- need I say more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    49
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
200
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The person who checked us in was a bit odd. It was obvious she was trying to share with us all the ammenities of the inn, however her delivery lacked the professionalism expected when your paying over $300.00 a night for a room.

The young woman at the check out desk had no social graces. She never asked how our stay had been. When we questioned the bill, as we wished clarity(we had used a gift card for part of the transaction) she became very defensive. She had trouble articulating the line items.that showed a payment for the gift card and then a negative payment which seemed odd to us. The payments appeared to cancel each other out. We will check our Visa statememt when it arrives to make sure we receive credit for the gift card.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWCTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Once again, we recently spent some time in beautiful Carmel, one of our favorite places of relaxation. The once lovely Carriage House Inn was our choice in years past, not so anymore. The rooms are in dire need of refurbishment; they have become shabby and are not keeping up with the times (poor linen quality, old TV's, worn furniture, dingy wallpaper, the constant loud, disturbing hum of the fridge ), very sad to say the least. They do have a nice wine/cheese offering in the evening, however, this does not compensate for the meager surroundings while still paying a goodly sum! Let's hope management gets with it as the property location is wonderful, so is the office staff, Laurie and Terry. All this being said, this IS our last visit to Carriage House Inn, we will go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We take your comments seriously and I apologize that you did not have a more satisfactory experience with us. In your review, you cited deficiencies with the maintenance of the room furnishings. I am very pleased to say that we are currently under way with improvements at the Carriage House Inn. This month alone, we are installing new flat screen tv’s and new luxury Italian linens.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we always strive to provide exceptional customer service and truly enjoy the wine/cheese evenings. I hope you will allow us another opportunity win back your loyalty to the Carriage House.

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great hotel for a couple to visit. Rooms are super cozy with a bed that feels like you are in a cloud. The attention by the employes was also very nice and they were always helpfull. The location is also excelent, walking distance from every place in town. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaRotger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The property was so very beautiful. The staff was very extending. The room was very elegant and was equivalent to a 5 star establishment. It had every comfort imagineable and exuded a feeling of pure relaxation. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was very lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,152 reviews
0.3 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
271 reviews
0.6 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
490 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 26 in Carmel
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing