We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Location!”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Premier Location!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I chose to stay with the Cypress Inn during a recent business trip, and was very happy I did. The staff is very helpful and genuinely interested in assisting where/when they can. The room was very comfortable and sleep quality was great.
Pros: Wine in the courtyard brought me back to adventures in Italy and France, Great coffee, Centrally located, Exceptional staff!
Con: I would bring my wife with me next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willigwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    261
    94
    28
    37
See reviews for
222
685
60
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed only one night on a saturday by calling on a Thursday ( otherwise a 3 night min). The staff was lovely, check in easy, and it is a cute, clean hotel. BUT if you are on the 1st floor you will not sleep!!! You can hear every word and you are very close to bar/ outdoor patio and library. They clearly know this is a problem and have added glass doors where you leave lobby to enter guestrooms, but it does little to mute the noise. There is no air conditioning, so we opened the window ( which faced an alley wall) -- more noise from the nearby outdoor patio reached us as well!
On another note, you must LOVE ( as in be obsessed) with dogs to stay here. Seriously. We have 2 dogs and love them dearly, but this is a hotel for the type of people who think of their dogs as their children. We had fun listening to jazz in the living room and talking to various dog owners ( everyone is very friendly in a dog community way) but would choose another hotel next time, even if we had not had the noise issue. It was just a little too over the top with the whole dog thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ldinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nor Cal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have stayed at Cypress Inn several times and have always enjoyed our stay. We love the fact that they are pet-friendly, well-located in Carmel-by-the-Sea, and offer great amenities. We have dined in Terry's Lounge and found the food to be very good and a great value for Carmel restaurants. Their complimentary buffet breakfast offers a variety of pastries, bagels, the BEST popovers, fresh fruit salad, assorted cereals, and scrambled eggs. Certainly enough food to get you off to a good start of shopping and/or sightseeing. When we stay in Carmel, we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanikailady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We love the Cypress Inn, it has a great location and the Inns architecture is a unique landmark in Carmel. The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The Inn has an excellent bar and restaurant and really nice court yards and lobby. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us with high quality fresh pastries, fruit, cereals yogurts and great coffee. The best part for us was being able to have our little Bichon - Max with us. This is the ultimate Inn for dogs they really have thought of everything including a wonderful pet sitter, bedding and feeding/watering bowls. Despite allowing dogs - their rooms are extremely clean. They really do great job considering most of the guests had dogs and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Thank You Denny, Amanda and Fiona for a great stay.

Room Tip: Great Inn for Fido.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I walked around and looked at ten other hotels before discovering the Cypress Inn. This boutique hotel is dog friendly ( thanks Doris Day) with Ms. Days memobalia throughout. I can not say enough good things about our stay. Room 204 had a side view of the ocean and I liked the fact that it was a corner room on the end. Besides the heavenly beds, free in room wifi, sherry, fruit and the free full breakfast can not be beat. The staff was very accommodating and we enjoyed eating in the outside patio. Terry lounge had great music that you can sing along and the inn is in the heart of all the action.

Room Tip: There are only 44 rooms and two floors, and my end room 204 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RawFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
847 reviews
2.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,641 reviews
0.1 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
0.6 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
529 reviews
6.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing