We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO Bathroom Tissue or towels AND BED BUGS CRAWL on your FACE when you sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad East
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NO Bathroom Tissue or towels AND BED BUGS CRAWL on your FACE when you sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Well, the ENTIRE hotel is out of bathroom tissue and towels. Manager refused to pull supplies from nearby properties and simply said nothing can be done. Refund asked for and refused by manager. Cleaning crew is great, yet they cannot offer supplies that are not even stocked by the manager. Someone needs to change his career. Why does his boss not tell him to take care of his customers???!!!

Room Tip: AVOID unless you love to BED BUGS crawl on your face while you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyVacation201127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
30
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Room had bed bugs. Told manager, Roger, and he said it was not his problem and suggested we stay somewhere else. What a great guy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripFamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Guam, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We wanted an inexpensive place close to Legoland, and this fit the bill. Legoland was about a 10 minute drive away, just past the outlet mall. The room was clean (we wore socks/slippers inside), bathroom tiny but clean. It was nice to have a small fridge and microwave. Free coffee in the lobby each morning. There was a pool we didn't use, and a laundry room we did. We extended an extra night. There was a 7-11 and Subway across the street, but we just drove a couple minuets to the outlet mall which had a lot of restaurants to choose from.
The big problem is that they allow smoking and pets in the motel, so even though we had a designated non-smoking room, we noticed a funky smell when we first checked in and each time we came in from a day at the park. Either the previous guest smoked in our room or brought pets in, or the smell from smoking rooms filtered into ours. I would suggest a non-smoking wing. Overall, we were very satisfied. We would stay again if they addressed the smoking issue.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing Paseo Del Norte. We could hear the guests on the second floor, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveguam_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

For the price this was OK but we thought compared to motels we had stayed at Motel 6 could have done better. The room was smallish but clean. There was no fridge or microwave so this was a bit of a let down. Wifi was a charge of $2.99 per day. We have travelled the US for 3 months now and this is the only place where they charge for wi-fi. I was pleased they had a laundry on-site but it was filthy. I don't think the machines had been wiped down for months and the floor was disgusting. However, when we departed I was asked if we had any comments so I mentioned all these issues. Hopefully, they will at least clean the laundry!

Room Tip: At any motel, always ask to inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz Hill, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I wouldn't normally stay at a Motel 6, but I was traveling with my cat and I needed a pet-friendly motel. What I didn't realize is that, although this is in a nice Carlsbad neighborhood, there are full-time residents living in this motel, which creates a dicy atmosphere.

At 11:45 p.m., I heard someone talking outside my room When I looked out the peephole, there was a guy smoking a marijuana joint, muttering to himself, "Everybody loves a little bud." Uh, not EVERYBODY....bud!

When he saw I was looking out the peephole, he put his thumb over it--in other words, a threat. That did it. I called the front desk, and told the clerk that either she was going to call the police, or I would. This being Carlsbad, the police arrived in under five minutes flat and hauled him off.

Yes, it's a Motel 6--not the Ritz. But my room absolutely reeked of disinfectant, and the "residents" seemed to come and go at all hours. The next night, I went down one more exit to the La Posada, where for $50 more I had a great room, no pet fee, and peace, quiet, and security.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail1Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.6 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad East

Property: Motel 6 Carlsbad East
Address: 6117 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1117
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad East 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Carlsbad
Motel 6 Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel Six
Carlsbad Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing