We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
1,007
373
152
65
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
373
152
65
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street chandlers restaurant ocean view beautiful hotel fire pit pool area self parking oceanfront room resort fee an upgrade beach access san diego nice pool shuttle service short drive free shuttle family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I booked my stay at the Hilton months ago to attend a wedding. Upon arrival I was told that my room was unavailable because other guests chose to extend their stay. Unacceptable. I was offered a DOWNGRADE in rooms, not an upgrade. The room itself was run down. Bathroom was the highlight. All the furniture was scratched and peeling (wood or paint). When the AC was running we would hear a loud buzzing noise every few hours. My advice: stay at the pool or not at all!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank kathryng574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear kathryng574,
We are sorry to hear about your recent stay. Please know that your experience is not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide each guest. In an effort to improve, we hope to learn the details of the issues outlined in your review. Please feel free to contact me directly at thomas.lee@caperey.com. Thank you, Thomas Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The heel is well situated in front of the beach. The rooms are OK in the classical hilton style (everything is here but rather non personal) . The staff was not really helpful. We had 2 small problems never get help. The restaurant is not worth a visit. There are a limited advantages for hilton diamond (no lodges ..) the rate are very high and after exploring the area there are many better options at a much lower rate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dompan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear dompan007,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate the feedback and are disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues during your recent stay. We would appreciate the chance to learn more and take steps in order to earn your future loyalty. Please feel free to contact me directly at thomas.lee@caperey.com. Thank you, Thomas Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We spent 4 great days at Cape Rey and had a great time. The rooms were clean, the pool area was perfect for sunset watching and the restaurant was very good. But I can not get over the professionalism and amazing customer service offered by Elizabeth from the front desk. A day after we checked out, we realized our teenager had left behind quite a bit of personal belongings in our room. We were panicked and called the hotel. I was so lucky to get Elizabeth on the phone who took my number and said she would call back as soon as she had any info on our loss. Within 24 hours she called back and let us know housekeeping had found all our belongings. Elizabeth then followed through and had these belongings mailed to our home. Throughout all of this she had the most polite and customer friendly demeanor which is very difficult to find these days. I can not thank her and your very trustworthy housekeeping staff enough!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Jt H,
Thank you very much for the great review. It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with amazing customer service during your stay. We are happy to have assisted with locating your items and ensuring it's safe return! We do have a great team here at Cape Rey and I will be sure to share this review. Thanks again, Thomas Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This was a very nice Hilton, was you expect from their brand. Great pool!!!. Nice rooms. Updated bathroom. Larger balcony. Room service. Nice onsite dining, fitness room, and spa. Valet parking. Modern and trendy front lobby.

But it was expensive. And it is not in the beach. You have to cross across the highway. But it is near legoland and just far enough away to feel beachy.

I'd definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank klvaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear klvaile,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Carlsbad! Sincerely, Thomas Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

had 7 nights paid £2000 could not even get the basics correct poor staff/housekeeping 2 occasions did not have room serviced had to ring to have it sorted daily the left no cups /coffee /tea /(milk when they did it had gone off) very limited menu forget beech just full of rocks try cheap motel possible better value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank G1204OFdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear G1204OFdaves,
We appreciate the feedback on our resort. We strive to provide the best guest experience and look for ways to improve daily. We are actively looking at our housekeeping procedures to find ways to ensure consistency for each guest. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, Thomas Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews