We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
87
50
12
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
50
12
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit hot tub rooftop patio unique hotel ocean view unique rooms restaurants within walking distance beach town hard boiled eggs romantic stay free breakfast is southwest room paradise room themed rooms watch the sunset our entire stay yoga studio
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Great location, clean and comfortable rooms. Bed was comfortable and complimentary toiletries appreciated. Convenient to shops, restaurants, bars and to the beachFriendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff.Great breakfast.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maskell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Second visit in 2 years to this lovely little place. Rooms are all individual, staff friendly, pleasant and very helpful. Rooftop is ideal for sun worshipers, like myself. It has a small hot tub and firepit, which is lit at nightfall. Its perfect for dinner and watching the sunset (which in a blink of an eye is gone).

Only problem we found this time was the noise through the water system when other guested flushed, showered or generally used the tap.

Even with that, I would stay again.

Thank you Dawn.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Su R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this property 3 consecutive years & am getting ready to book my 4th trip. I love this place! Between the super friendly staff, amazing location and views, and unique property, Cardiff by the Sea lodge has it all.

The people that work here (especially Anthony!) are genuinely friendly and accommodating. They are professional & helpful, and go the extra distance to make your stay more enjoyable.

You can’t beat the location— close to the beach but elevated enough to have a view. The rooftop
deck with fire pit showcases sweeping ocean views. It’s the perfect spot to watch the sunset and have a glass of wine!

The lodge is very unique and each room is different. I usually stay in the ‘Tropical’ themed room. It’s clean, quiet, and roomy with a comfortable bed. I look forward to my next stay!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank PilgrimGirlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This is the place to stay whether solo, couples or family! Loved my room! Loved the rooftop! And the beach is 2 blocks away! Nearby foodies and the best coffee just across the street at Zumbar. Wonderful staff!

Room Tip: The Country Room had the most comfortable bed!!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KATE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Cardiff by the Sea is the perfect little beach town with small shops and just steps from restaurants and the beach. The hotel was perfectly suited in the beach environment. It was super charming and the staff were super pleasant. Tina was amazing! She gave us tips each day on places to see and eat and was just friendly to talk to while we got coffee and bagels in the morning. The rooftop patio was the perfect place to spend an afternoon/evening unwinding and watching the sun go down - there was a lot of separate seating areas so people had some privacy. We stayed in the Southwestern room - the room had great views of the ocean and was equipped nicely with amenities - just beware that there is not a bathroom door! So, if that's important to you... select a different room. I read a lot of reviews about Oceanside and Cardiff prior to booking with lots of complaints about the train. Yes, there is a train - but it's the Amtrak Surfliner - it goes by a lot and very fast. We found that the train whistle added charm to this beach town. Don't let it scare you away.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TMBOOTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews