We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
536
95
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
95
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa personal butler massage room valley view room yoga studio tiger's nest an incredible experience archery lessons ginger tea heated pool wood burning great spa steam room small kitchen hot stone bath the hotel manager deep tissue massage
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Perfect retreat for family of five (kids 11, 15 and 17). All staff and manager Saroj Narang were top notch!

Views of Paro Valley are mind blowing (paying for valley view room is a must). Rooms are on the small side. Suites are huge. Facilities (pool, yoga, workout room, etc.) are very good.

Food is fantastic.

(I read the negative reviews. These reviews reveal more about the reviewers than about the hotel. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel like home, then Bhutan, regardless of hotel, is not for you.)

Room Tip: Pay for a valley view. Suites are huge but very expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj_Narang, Manager at COMO Uma Paro, Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear CC H,

Greetings from Magical Bhutan!!

Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a 5* rating and a wonderful review to others on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear you & your family has enjoyed our hotel facilities and services and the COMO Shambhala Retreat, COMO Cuisine and Paro Valley were the main highlights of your short stay.

We hope to welcome you & your family back in the near future.

Best regards,

Saroj Narang
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This truly was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and definitely one of the best villas we've ever experienced. The como (2 bedroom) villa was huge, with a courtyard, massage room, terrace, huge living area, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, beautiful valley view and our own wonderful butler - Leki. He was always on call to serve us lunch on our terrace or at the spectacular main restaurant, give us archery lessons and clean our shoes - without ever feeling intrusive.

We would definitely recommend a villa over a room in the main hotel as they feel more exclusive, private and special. Despite the number of rooms however the uma manages to be completely tranquil and intimate - you could be staying in a 10 room property if it weren't for the huge variety of facilities that a bigger property allows!

Another highlight of our stay was the amazing spa (definitely worth the money!) - the hot stone massage and couples traditional hot stone bath and massage were particular favourites!

Food was always excellent and varied, they were always happy to accommodate fussy tastes. The delicious porridge at breakfast set us up well for the hike to the spectacular bumdra camp above tiger's nest! Also make sure to visit the lovely shop (the best we came across in Bhutan).

It was a hard decision choosing between the uma and the aman but we are sure we made the right choice - as this hotel was probably the favourite of the trip, and we felt it was vastly superior to the aman thimpu - for both service and facilities.

The service was one of the main highlights of our stay - it was both professional and heartfelt with lots of special touches that made us feel utterly pampered. It made our stay truly special and was a wonderful way to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary! This was a truly amazing way to end a wonderful trip to Bhutan!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend a villa over a room in the main hotel as they feel more exclusive, private and special.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SueFilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj_Narang, Manager at COMO Uma Paro, Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear SueFilby,

Greetings from Magical Bhutan

Thank you for your valuable time, we are thrilled to see five star rating and hear about your recent visit to COMO Uma Paro.

We are very delighted to learn that you all have enjoyed our location, cuisine, spa and accommodations and you were able to fully relax and enjoy all of our hotel facilities and services. Thank you for recognizing our COMO Star Butler Leki during your stay and I will make sure to share your kind words and compliments with entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Saroj Narang
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

My immersion to Bhutan started with a magical flight across the Himalayas and a peak of Mt Everest. Arriving at Uma the magic continued and was an incredible experience, starting with a warm welcoming tea, beautiful room and incredible Bhutanese people. The staff all knew my name which was a special touch. The room is well appointed, turndown each night is lovely and the spa facilities out of this world. While I was looking forward to returning home I left with a heavy heart. Bhutan, its people and the Uma are very special.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Shazmoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj_Narang, Manager at COMO Uma Paro, Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Shazmoana,

Greetings from COMO Uma Paro!!

Thank you for perfect five star rating and sharing such an incredible personal experience. The team truly prides themselves in raising the bar when it comes to delivering Five Star service. We are honored to have been the choice resort for your special visit in Magical Bhutan and look forward to making move visits in the future equally as memorable.

Best regards,

Saroj Narang
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

One of the best hotels we've ever visited. Truly exceptional service, beautiful rooms and suites with incredible views, fantastic restaurant, outstanding management of the hotel and restaurant, and very convenient to all the sights in and around Paro (including only a short drive to the trailhead for the hike to Tiger's Nest). Of all the hotels where we stayed in Bhutan, this hotel stood out as the very best (and the very best we've stayed anywhere in the world). It is located on a hillside above Paro and is exceptionally quiet and peaceful. We were a bit concerned that butler service came with the room (not our usual style), but it was not intrusive at all and the service was actually extremely helpful. I also recommend the spa services - they were outstanding as well. We regret that we stayed only two nights. When we return to Bhutan, we will definitely plan to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj_Narang, Manager at COMO Uma Paro, Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear SusaDogue,

Warmest greetings from Magical Bhutan!!

Thank you for perfect five star rating and excellent review. Our aim is to deliver exceptional personalized unique service to all our guests. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer comfortable stay in the near future.

Best regards,

Saroj Narang
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Truly a five star facility. Great location. Excellent staff. World class cuisine. People here treat you like royalty! My wife and I spent two days in February. When the manager learnt that she had some health concerns, he immediately upgraded our room to a suite! The whole staff was extremely caring and made her feel completely at home. The owner James is a devout Buddhist and believes every human counter is extra special. What a great attitude in a hotel manager! His assistant Saroj was another solicitous hostess helping us beyond the call of duty. Needless to say, if we ever visit Paro again, Uma is where we will stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TejiSandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj_Narang, Manager at COMO Uma Paro, Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear TejiSandhu,

Greetings from COMO Uma Paro!!

The entire team is excited to read about your excellent review about our property & services. I am equally thrilled to hear that you both have enjoyed our COMO hospitality and personal touches and already look forward to returning. We do too! I will make sure to pass along your kind words to James and the rest of the team.

Best regards,

Saroj Narang
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews