We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience in a beautiful location with excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

It was our pleasure to visit and stay at La Anita when we went to Costa Rica in late July. My Wife was in contact with Ana by email and everything was easily arranged. Ana and Pablo arranged the transport from our hotel for us. They made us feel very welcome and we were fortunate enough to stay in the honeymoon cabin which was on its own large piece of land. The surroundings, peace and tranquility make this a very special place. We joined a chocolate tour on the second day and enjoyed learning about the history of chocolate, the process and our walk into the plantation (as well as lots of sampling). Pablo is clearly very knowledgeable and passionate. The food was very good and Ana and Pablo are wonderful hosts. It was a great experience for all of us and I highly recommend it. We were sad to leave and would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cabin if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We visited La Anita in early June 2017 and as others have mentioned, it's an incredible place. We miss it (and Ana and Pablo) very much and talk about the experience frequently. We stayed for four nights; I think next time we would plan to stay for longer. I've been to Costa Rica four times and have visited many places...La Anita stands out as my favourite.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAMc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

La Anita is a gem. The setting is beautiful: A chocolate farm in the middle of lush forest between two volcanos. The cabins are simple and perfect for an almost off-the-grid getaway (no TVs or phones; wifi only in the main building/dining room). Pablo and Ana are lovely hosts and the tour of their chocolate/cacao farm is very interesting—and delicious. Meals are included and are excellent. Highly recommended as a place to escape the more crowded and touristy parts of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are very similar. Ask about bed configurations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMulligan1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Staying at La Anita is one of those experiences you'll always remember. Aside from the incredible setting and things to see and do in the area, it was Pablo's personal involvement that made our stay here so special. When he learned we wanted to see a sloth, he arranged for the local mayor to take us out on his property (translation: bushwhacking with a machete through the jungle!) to show us where he'd seen a sloth the day before. The food was incredible, and we'll always smile with the memory of showering in the triple-screened, open cabin during a massive rainstorm. What a fabulous way to feel integrated with the rainforest -- bug-free! Many thanks for Pablo for making this part of our trip to Costa Rica so incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

What an amazing place La Anita is! The setting is spectacular, and the ambiance unlike anywhere else we have been in Costa Rica. Pablo and Ana couldn't be more delightful or accommodating hosts. The chocolate tour is informative, and the chocolate is incredible! The meals are all fresh ingredients, mostly from La Anita's own garden. We were a multi-generational group of 11 (including 5 children) and everyone was sad to leave. A wonderful experience! We would definitely go to La Anita again!

Room Tip: There are 10 cabins. Most are king-size beds, but at least one has three single beds. The rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
19.7 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,414 reviews
19.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
515 reviews
31.4 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
737 reviews
11.1 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,018 reviews
19.9 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Address: 500 Metros Este De La Iglesia Catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: €84 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing