We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
278
14
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
14
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate tour ceviche cooking class costa rica chocolate tasting cacao plantation wonderful hosts local women chocolate making honeymoon cabin chocolate farm screened windows nearby village bon bons organic farming dark chocolate history lesson
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We visited La Anita in early June 2017 and as others have mentioned, it's an incredible place. We miss it (and Ana and Pablo) very much and talk about the experience frequently. We stayed for four nights; I think next time we would plan to stay for longer. I've been to Costa Rica four times and have visited many places...La Anita stands out as my favourite.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAMc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

La Anita is a gem. The setting is beautiful: A chocolate farm in the middle of lush forest between two volcanos. The cabins are simple and perfect for an almost off-the-grid getaway (no TVs or phones; wifi only in the main building/dining room). Pablo and Ana are lovely hosts and the tour of their chocolate/cacao farm is very interesting—and delicious. Meals are included and are excellent. Highly recommended as a place to escape the more crowded and touristy parts of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are very similar. Ask about bed configurations.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMulligan1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Staying at La Anita is one of those experiences you'll always remember. Aside from the incredible setting and things to see and do in the area, it was Pablo's personal involvement that made our stay here so special. When he learned we wanted to see a sloth, he arranged for the local mayor to take us out on his property (translation: bushwhacking with a machete through the jungle!) to show us where he'd seen a sloth the day before. The food was incredible, and we'll always smile with the memory of showering in the triple-screened, open cabin during a massive rainstorm. What a fabulous way to feel integrated with the rainforest -- bug-free! Many thanks for Pablo for making this part of our trip to Costa Rica so incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

What an amazing place La Anita is! The setting is spectacular, and the ambiance unlike anywhere else we have been in Costa Rica. Pablo and Ana couldn't be more delightful or accommodating hosts. The chocolate tour is informative, and the chocolate is incredible! The meals are all fresh ingredients, mostly from La Anita's own garden. We were a multi-generational group of 11 (including 5 children) and everyone was sad to leave. A wonderful experience! We would definitely go to La Anita again!

Room Tip: There are 10 cabins. Most are king-size beds, but at least one has three single beds. The rooms all have ceiling fans.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

What a beautifull and warm place. Hospitality is key here. Pablo and Anita are making your stay here really unforgettable. All is so well organised, while Pablo is explaining the details for a proposed trip, he already made sure that you can take a lunch along with you. The proposed trail in the National Park was really beautifull, we have seen many many butterflies, snake, monkeys, leguanas, difference in rainforest and we took a dip into the waterfall and in the hotsprings. What a day! Thanks a lot for arranging the birthday cake for our son on his eighth birthday, chocolate cake of course! He will never forget that super delicious cake. It is an example of how much Pablo and Anita are into the details to make your stay so comfortable. Do not forget to take the chocolate tour, the chocolate here is made with passion and eating chocolate will never be the same anymore. Several tasting moments are included in the tour, from the cacao until,the delicious chocolate. The small shop is providing chocolate to take home as well, of course.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frits en Anne-m... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews