We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stopped in Cambria as the end of day one of our 3 day drive from LA to SF. After stopping at the Santa Barbara Mission and then Solvang for afternoon tea we arrived after dark. I wasn't up for driving into Cambria itself but had a nice meal a few places down at the Moonstone Grill which was fine.
LSI itself is nice and clean, great location on the beach (I was up early next day and strolled over to watch the sun come up). The room was, er, roomy, loved the fireplace (although as this is the heating system for your room it does tend to go on and off during the night - don't wake up thinking you're on fire) and the beds large but on the firm side. Breakfast was sufficient although there's not a lot of space (yes there are some chairs outside but in December that wasn't an option).
Its only 10 minutes to Hearst Castle and then a few more to the elephant seal rookery so location wise it was great. I'd originally had trouble finding somewhere affordable in Cambria and was going to settle for San Simeon - but one kindly TA member passed on the info for this place and am so glad that I stopped in Cambria rather than SS once I'd driven through it. Lovely location:)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan42Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Little Sur Inn recently , and are still feeling pain from the uncomfortable, very firm beds. Price was great for the room, lovely room with fireplace , helpful desk staff , nice breakfast....probably will not return due to sleep discomfort.....

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with partial ocean view are a good choice, or if you can afford it, the front oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Annie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We are sorry to hear of your discomfort with the mattress in your room. Little Sur Inn takes the quality of each of our guests' stay here very seriously. Only through feedback from our guests are we able to learn where improvements or changes need to be made.

Little Sur Inn had recently purchased new mattresses for the rooms. Upon receiving input from guests such as yourself, we have learned that these mattresses tend to be on the side of too firm for the majority of our guests. We are currently in the process of replacing these mattresses with new ones in order to achieve a level of firmness to appeal to the majority.

We hope that by making this improvement to our rooms that you will again allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more quality and improved expereince in the future. As always, we value and appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Little Sur Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday. The room was clean and well maintained and the bathroom was large with great amenities.
We had reserved a room with a partial ocean view, and it had a much better view than we were expecting. A lovely touch was that the room’s heat is maintained by a gas fireplace in the room which we found extremely cozy.
The continental breakfast was just right to start the day with coffee, cereal, toast, juice and a variety of pastries before a walk along the beach.
We found the staff at the front desk to be incredibly friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay at Little Sur Inn during future trips to beautiful Cambria!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimAndDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and both times have been surprised at the rude treatment by the front desk staff. Once my trip was for a family reunion and the other was for a romantic getaway. Not sure why we came back, but I guess the fear of the unknown hotel was was greater than the displeasure of the known hotel. Won't be making that mistake next year when we return.

Rooms are fairly outdated, which is fine, but the price doesn't fall in alignment with the status of the room. I get it, you're ocean front in a quaint little town, but next time, I'd rather just stay inland and not pay the higher rates for subpar rooms and service.

Also, as other visitors noted, the hotel makes no qualms about overcharging your credit card and forcing you to call to argue before "kindly" refunding. I love Cambria, but Little Sur - not so much.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lulu_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

We sent you a message via your TripAdvisor account to give us the specifics of your concerns so that we could properly address them, however, to date we still have not received a response from you.

Little Sur Inn never randomly charges any of our guests' credit cards. As stated on the Registration card you signed at check-in Little Sur Inn is a pet free and smoke free property, any guests' violating these policies will be charged accordingly.

Having 2 of the newest hotels in Cambria, Little Sur Inn was built in 2001 and just celebrated our 10 year anniversary. Being family owned and operated, we take pride in insuring all rooms are clean and fresh at all times, including the exterior. Our pricing has always been in line with other comparable hotel properties in our area.

We apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with your recent visit and hope that you give us an opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience in the future.

Best Regards,
Little Sur Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

What a find this is! We loved it! Friendly, helpful desk people, immaculate rooms, good location, attractive pricing, continental breakfast that stays open to 10 AM. What more could you want?
But a word on Cambria gas stations: I don't want to say they are gouging people, but both the Chevron and Shell stations in town were charging $4.49 for unleaded gas on the same day I bought it in Morro Bay, 21 miles or 26 minutes away by Highway 1, for $3.91. 58¢ per gallon, really!!

Room Tip: The top of the parking lot, the office, most of the rooms, and any handicapped access is on the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
1.4 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,017 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,071 reviews
0.8 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: €129 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing