We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
How to plan

I hope to help others by clarifying a few things. No, you can not just drive up to the gate and... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2018
TheWind26
,
Cerritos, California
via mobile
Living history

The tour began at an assembly point which is an old motel that the BLM now owns that is about 1.5... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2018
BnThrDnThat
,
Santa Maria, California
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
117
41
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
41
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house hour tour great tour elephant seals lighthouse tour own vehicle certain days of the week two hours walking tour natural habitat bureau of land management native plants open house sea life morning activity living history volunteer tour guide
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The tour began at an assembly point which is an old motel that the BLM now owns that is about 1.5 miles north of the light house turnoff on CA 1. After a brief orientation, we got in our vehicles and followed the docent to the lighthouse for a two hour guided tour of the lighthouse and the surrounding sea life. There were 15 vehicles and 40 of us on the tour. They broke us into two groups. It was a very informative and interesting 2 hour trip around the lighthouse property. It is accessible for the disabled as a lady with a walker was included in our group. I learned five new things today and at $10 for the fee (which goes to the lighthouse restoration), I considered it a great deal. The docents are very informative and interesting.

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank BnThrDnThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

You have to call and make reservations for a tour. This is managed by the BLM and not CA State Parks. Limited hours and at times they are doing research there. So, know before you go ! Beautiful area and a lot of history. The top of the lighthouse sits downtown Cambria. A earthquake weakened the structure and the heavy glass was removed. It still works.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bigred4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Great tours there, worth the time and money to go (nominal entry fee). They have restored the native plants and labeled them for those interested in the flora. Saw whales spouting from there. Enchanting.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this tour. Not only do you get learn about the history of this beautiful, historic lighthouse but you also see elephant seals , coastal scenery and wildlife. The interns giving the tour are extremely enthusiastic, passionate and informative.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We toured the lighthouse at the end of June 2018. First stop was at an old hotel just up from the lighthouse. While waiting for tour to begin, we walked around back and saw the elephant seals on the beach. Next we drove to lighthouse following guides (you must first meet at hotel, you cannot start tour at lighthouse). We were split into two groups and proceeded to learn about history of area, sea and plant life, and of course the lighthouse. Views are beautiful and walk is easy. Binoculars are available for free when viewing the sealions and birds on the rocks. Tour guides are volunteers who live in the area. We had Tim and Avery (intern) who did a great job answering questions and explaining what we were seeing. Tour was just over 2 hours and cost $10 for adults (1/2 price if you have a National Park pass). Well worth the cost and time!

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank soccerrefmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews