We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful room but rude staff”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful room but rude staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I am giving this hotel a poor rating because the staff was so rude when we were checking in. They simply were unaccommodating to our needs. We had one simple request from the lady (Julie) at the desk. We wanted to check into our room early so we could change into our riding clothes for a scheduled 3:30 lesson. But the answer was "no." And not because there were any other guests asking to check in early, but simply because housekeeping cleaned the rooms "in order" and she could not have them do our room" out of order." When this desk clerk left her position early because she did not feel good, another girl came to relieve her and was filled in on the details. This 20- something year old girl would not budge either and seem to take pleasure in being rude to our pleading. It was a disgusting display of power and the hotel should never have someone so inexperienced on staff. At her delight our room was not even ready at check in time 3:00pm and we waited (slowly losing patience with her cavalier attitude) and finally we checked in to our room at 3:20 leaving us ten minutes to change and get to our appointment. That said, the room was a stark contrast to the staff, it was lovely!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dondies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    158
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
586
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
296 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The reviews are correct. This is a very nice hotel. We got the Jr. King Suite. It had a separate sitting room which made the bedroom smaller. The TV's in the sitting room and bedroom were pretty small. The only issue I had was the shower was to low. My wife is only 5'2" tall and it was too low for her too. Our daughter and her husband had a Standard King next door. Their bedroom and bathroom was bigger then ours. They had a large TV and their shower head was higher. We also noticed a floor fan. I don't think they have air conditioning. We didn't need it in May so it wasn't an issue. However, if your staying there in July or August you might check the weather and inquire about AC. We'd definately recommend The Blue Dolphin Inn.

Room Tip: I would recommend passing on the Jr. King Suite and just getting the Standard King. It's roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My boyfriend and I took a road trip down PCH and stayed at the Blue Dolphin for 1 night. It was perfect! From the front desk experience, to the tasteful decor of the room, the awesome location, and the super cute breakfast in the morning - it was all top-notch and very memorable. The seal experience just north a few miles is a must-see, for sure!

Room Tip: The front corner rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We originally booked with a sister property down the road but because of a delay in renovations, we were unable to stay there and were given a choice to stay at one of their other properties.
We were impressed with quite a few things, starting with the personal escort to our room when checking in, to show us how to work the fireplace. All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and took the time to chat with us. The beds were very comfortable..lots of pillows, loved the keurig coffee maker and the fact that there were real creamers in the mini fridge in the room. Maybe I'm easily impressed but I give *2 thumbs up* for that. There were so many small touches that we really appreciated...like the bathrobes, slippers, eyemasks, daily cookies...even the buckets of water & rags in the parking lot to clean our car windows. Our room was at the side and we didn't hear any traffic noise.
The boardwalk across the road made for nice walks in the evening to watch the sunset. Stayed for 2 nights so we could have a whole day to visit Hearst Castle and the surroundings. Went into town both nights and had supper at Linn's Restaurant which was delicious.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I just enjoyed our third visit to the Blue Dolphin Inn and each time has been outstanding! The rooms are charming. The oceanfront rooms all have different decor, everything from South Pacific to Greece to Africa. Saldanha Bay is our new favorite. The beds are extremely comfortable with luxury linens and a choice of pillows. Plush robes and slippers are great to slip into after a soak in the deep tub. The towels are thick and plush and plenty of them. We appreciated all the amenities such as coffee and ice water available in the lobby, fresh cookies in our room and binoculars for whale watching. I like the fact that they are doing their part to be green by having a recycling container in the room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast was available but Mallory provided us with fruit, bagels, oatmeal and juice the night before. It was much appreciated. Everything about it is a true class act. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: They are expensive but the oceanfront rooms are worth the splurge. Sitting either on the patio or up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirlSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,804 reviews
0.1 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing