We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite B&B in Napa”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Favorite B&B in Napa”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Peter & Phillip are model owners & hosts. Polite, kind, helpful, and generous with many thoughtful extras. The complementary afternoon wine & cheese was beautiful in its presentation and many afternoons Peter was so kind as to deliver it to our carriage house. They make their own wine and it's excellent. The breakfasts were fantastic and plentiful and we ate them wearing our cozy robes in our room. We enjoyed the privacy of the carriage house and found it to be very clean & comfortable. The main house is warm & welcoming and a good place to gather for conversation.

The only concern some people may have is the location. If you plan on spending a few nights dining in Yountville the drive back may be a bit far. We found great spots to eat in St. Helena & Calistoga so this was a non-issue for us.

Our four nights weren't enough...next time we'll certainly stay longer. Thanks again Peter & Phillip for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
375
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This B&B is just north of Calistoga. The house is beautifully appointed and the owners are friendly and helpful. There are always several kinds of very good complementary wine and beer available and an afternoon cheese and fruit plate that really is tasty. There is a nice Jacuzzi and swimming pool with robes and sandals in the rooms. Beds are very comfortable, although the bath/shower in our room was a bit small. The breakfast was “to die for”. Outstanding does not even start to describe it. Did I say the owners are friendly and helpful? We called the day before we arrived and they were able to get us reservation at an “hard to get into” restaurant. Close to a lot of wineries.

This is our new place to stay when we visit Napa!

Check out our trip photos at www.worldphotosonline.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldphotosonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Everything was absolutely wonderful! The setting was exquisite, the service outstanding, the food delicious and the company most enjoyable. A must stay if you are visiting Napa! I will recommend this place to all my friends and will definitely come back... hopefully soon as 2 days was not enough to make the most of this beautiful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My huband and I have just returned from a 3-night stay at CdV - I cannot recommend it highly enough! Phillip and Peter are wonderful hosts and will ensure that your stay within the Napa Valley is very special. The Inn is a stunning house set within a lovely vineyard. It is peaceful and includes a hot tub!!

As you will see on the other reviews, breakfast here is amazing and not to be missed! We particularly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the 'wine tray' and nibbles.

Calistoga is a lovely town and we ate at Brannigons, great steak and wine!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFAR_SE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

this was about the 7th time my husband and i have stayed at Chateau de Vie. It is the only place we will stay when visiting Napa Valley. the most relaxing place to go....we never want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
3.6 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
12.7 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.4 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
550 reviews
8.8 km away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
3.8 km away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Property: Chateau de Vie
Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing