We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Fantastic beds. Clean, cute rooms. Great pools and spa, Attentive and caring staff.we usually stay at the Indian Springs Resort but came here instead. We were not disappointed! Great location too for walking to fab restaurants and tastings.
We will be back.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Thanks for sharing your comments, we are so glad that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, each Calistoga resort has something different to offer, we have a more intimate environment with our pools and gardens than you would find at other properties. I'm so glad it suited you and your friends!

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2015

I guess I am coming from staying at 4-5 star hotels that cost just as much. But paying about $260+/night at a place like this wasn't quite worth it. Although it has clean rooms, the rooms were small, there was a fly swatter which was obviously for a giant moth that I had to kill. Not to mention, the walls were very thin. I could hear our neighbor snoring through the night as well as the near by Calistoga Race Way car racing event and people out at the pool (we stayed 2nd floor room 125). In addition, the spa wasn't to rave for, atleast for the massages. My wife had a masseuse who was all over place, no rhythm and had her breathe out loud as if she was doing yoga. My masseuse like to keep on talking to me, so not much relaxation involved. Will try different places next time around.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank quincy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

I appreciate that you took the time to note your comments about your recent stay. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations both at the hotel and the spa. Room 125 is indeed a boutique sized room that we inform each guest when making reservations. As for the Calistoga Car Races, they are a semi-annual event that draws in thousands of fans, running until 10:30 pm each night they race. In regards to your spa experience; treatments are very individualized between the masseuse and client. Conversations about what you like or don't like is paramount to a good massage. I am sorry if you felt you couldn't ask the masseuse for a silent experience. So many of our clients rave about the quality of our spa, but unfortunately it appears we didn't meet the mark for you.
Each property in Calistoga is unique, each having something different to offer. I am sure one of the other properties will meet your future needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I rarely write reviews, but I feel the need for this place because of the sheer number of 4 and 5 star reviews which really aren't justified at all. We were led astray by them. I might've still stayed here anyway if I'd known that it was 3 star hotel, but I would've expected much less.

Yes, the staff are nice and helpful. Yes, the location is great. Yes, it's reasonably priced in what can be an unreasonable area.

But no, no, no this is not a 4 or 5 star experience in Calistoga. Our room was very cramped and stuck in 1985. The pools are small and crowded. The basics of a 4 or 5 star experience are even missing - like a fan in the bathroom or bathrobes in the rooms for use at the pools.

Don't believe the hype. Four or five stars in Calistoga is Indian Springs on up. Yes, you will pay more, but you will get more.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pyewacket123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to voice your comments. I'm sorry if you didn't find your experience with us as you envisioned. At no time do we ever attempt to misrepresent ourselves or be deceptive. Our website accurately portrays the look of our standard rooms (decor is from the late 90's-mid 2000s'), as well as our recently renovated Superiore and Jacuzzi Suite rooms.
Our pools are are intimate experience, in no way do we say they are the size of some of our fellow neighbors who have Olympic size public pools. Our pools are for soaking and socializing which our repeat guests prefer.
We clearly state that we are a 3 diamond property rated by AAA and additionally are proud of the fact that AAA feels we deserve extra points for our meticulously kept gardens and grounds, room cleanliness and the condition of the property.

Once again, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations, I do hope you consider another Calistoga property in the future that will better meet your needs. We are a great small town with a lot to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Fantastic time spent! Arrived on Monday and everything was in place for us to start our "Wine Country Wellness Package". Plenty enough time to enjoy the facilities of the Roman Spa as well as to venture out into the Napa Valley and enjoy some of our favorite wineries and shopping locations. We practically stayed in their pools until we needed to get kicked out for it was so amazing! Going back as many times as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TripCounsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

I'm so glad to hear that your experience was "fantastic" and you thoroughly enjoyed your Wine Country Wellness Package. Indeed, this package is a great way to experience the Valley, 2 nights with breakfast each morning and a couples mud/mineral bath plus 50 minute massage. As you stated, the pools are amazing, and indeed they are magical with all of the benefits of the minerals being absorbed as you soak. Once you experience the waters, you will want to return again and again. You can't find mineral water any where else in the Napa Valley. Calistoga is the place to be!

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had a short stay at Roman hot springs resort and spa and stayed in one off the updated king rooms. We haven't seen this quality in accommodatios in any other vacations WOW best describes this resort and spa. Had our first mud bath and mineral bath and can't wait for our next. Staff are friendly and helpful, room was gorgeous, spa was well maintained. Mineral pools are clean and perfecttemperatures. Worth a viit

Room Tip: 2nd floor renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you for your very kind comments. I'm so glad we were able to WOW you during your stay with us. We are extremely proud of our remodeled building of 8 rooms, everyone who stays in them is very pleased with the accommodations and amenities. I'm also glad you experienced a mud bath, it is truly a gift of nature and a complete experience when you add a massage to the bath.

We're a long way from Maryland, but we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
434 reviews
0.8 km away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#14 of 15 in Calistoga
5 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
451 reviews
0.9 km away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.5 km away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: €186 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing