We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
195
232
132
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
232
132
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa ynez wine tasting breakfast buffet omelet bar starting gate wine country movie theater los olivos exercise room central location room rate fitness center nice property room facing hitching post ii short drive the room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I have enjoyed staying in Marriotts for years, but no more. This was the worst. It has been redecorated, and is dark and gloomy. The halls have nice carpet, but the floor of our newly redecorated room was a dark imitation wood linoleum. It had bubbles in it, that I was constantly stumbling over. The walls of the room were dark grey, and the furniture was dark imitation wood, and black metal. I have seen nicer furniture at IKEA. The door to the bathroom was glass and stuck out 2 or 3 inches from the doorway. There was no way to achieve any privacy in the bathroom. This might be okay for single travelers, but it was not comfortable for a couple. We had a two bedded room, and one of the beds was placed in front of a sliding door to a deck with deck furniture. The only way to reach the deck was from the bed. In the public rooms, there was more bar, and less dining room, and it was almost impossible to escape the numerous televisions. On the positive side, the staff were very nice, and the exercise room was okay. We just completed a road trip to Southern California, and we stayed in 3 Marriotts, and 2 Hyatts. The redecorated Marriotts are dark and gloomy, while the Hyatts were bright and light filled. Guess where I will stay next time?

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OldCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott33, General Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear OldCritical,

We are very sorry that you are not a fan of our renovation and our brand's new modern look in general. I do hope that you reconsider exploring one of our many other brands, we are confident that you will find brands that you'll love such as the Westins, JWs, Renaissance or Ritz Carltons. We have many beautiful brands to choose from and we hope that you give the Marriott family of hotels another chance.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback, we wish well and safe travels!

Sincerely,
Karla Azahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

It’s been maybe 6 years since we’ve stayed here, and it’s just as good now as I remember it from before. Recently updated, the rooms are in a pretty cool, useful layout. Be advised, close parking can get pretty crowded, but there’s plenty of parking further away from the entrances. TONS of EV parking spaces, if that’s what you need.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived to find a dirty shower with improper drainage, dents and divots in wall trim, and dust bunnies under the furniture. The heavy glass sliding bathroom door kept coming off the tracks and poses a significant safety hazard for young children and guests incapable of catching a 70 pound glass door falling on them. The front desk staff seemed unfazed by the fact that it almost injured our children. Maintenance came late at night to fix the door, but it just kept coming off and we decided to let it be. The hotel rooms definitely need a refresh to warrant $275/night. The pool is nice, the exercise equipment worked well, and the bar area personnel were courteous and helpful. Even so, we will likely not be coming back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank otterrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott33, General Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Otterrock,

We are so very sorry that you had such a negative experience. Safety, followed closely by cleanliness, is our highest priority and it sounds like we didn't meet your expectations. I would love to have a conversation with you so that we may correct this issue and make it right. At your convenience, please email or call me at: kazahar@syvmarriott.com or (805) 688-1000.

Sincerely,

Karla Azahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Paid way too much only to find this is like a very low level Marriott. Had many mistakes and found hotel to be dirty. I have top status yet still had a room on ground floor near pool that was loud at all hours. So disappointed. Staff performed at most basic level which didn’t cut it and isn’t what SPG hotels ever act like. Wish Starwood hadn’t been bought by Marriott!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michiej2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott33, General Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear michiej2018,

We are terribly sorry that you did not like our hotel, we strive to provide the highest level of service, cleanliness and quality and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly at kazahar@syvmarriott.com or (805) 688-1000 to discuss this matter further, I will ensure that we make it right.

Sincerely,
Karla Azahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We revisited this hotel after having a minor issue last year. GM Karla resolved all of our issues and then some. We will definitely return for future visits.

We enjoyed Happy Hour at the pool. The nachos were particularly tasty.

Breakfast buffet at the Starting Gate was beyond delicious. Server Rueben was pleasant, efficient and extremely attentive. The made-to-order omelet was perfect!

Since the renovations with the new flooring (v carpeting), we think the rooms are much more tidy and germ-free.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews