We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
13
33
38
32
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
33
38
32
39
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Being on a budget, during our California road trip, this hotel fitted the bill since it represented the cheapest option in town.
It is a little run down (even the stag's head in Reception has an antler missing) but it is quite OK if you know what you are getting yourself into. Whilst the steps are a little rough, the swimming pool looks as though its never used and you don't look behind the furniture (dust) then you can just sleep in the bed (comfortable and clean) and use this place as a base.

Tip: If you want to take advantage of the 'free' breakfast then go early otherwise there is little left to eat. At 09:00 there was still bread and butter, 1 carton of jam and a very small quantity (half a portion?) of coloured cereal.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philip_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We booked in advance, a "suite". Which looked like it had been used in the past as a home, and then simply given a quick paint and turned into motel accommodation. Very dated. The kitchen had a hob, oven, and fridge but no microwave.. and no pots / plates / flatware at all. The sink did not drain properly. The bathroom was clean but very dated - although the shower was warm and plentiful. Only one of the two beds promised was in the room, and it had not been made up. Not enough bedding either. Breakfast... least said the better. At $250 per night this was not cheap so what we would accept in a cheap rate motel became unacceptable. Surly service on arrival compensated by offers of laundry.. but still waiting for the extra blankets...Access to upper floor via concrete steps that are literally crumbling, so care required on descent..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumTravels1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We are a family of 3 adults & 2 teens on a US road trip holiday & booked all our hotels/motels in advance. We intended to use Bishop as a staging town on the way from Las Vegas to Yosemite and beyond. We booked Trees Motel in Bishop in advance through Booking.com and had confirmation emails aplenty (they email you a countdown to your arrival).

We tried to check in at Trees, but it soon became clear that they had been double-booked; the manager blamed Booking.com & we will enter dispute with them about this, since it looks like they have labelled us as "no-show" and billed our card anyway!

Helpfully, the chap at Trees recommended Mountain View Motel and sent us the short distance, telling us to tell the clerk that he had sent us.

We drove to Mountain View and sat in the open office/reception area over 20 mins, trying to ring the bell, even shouting to see if there was anyone there. What was there was a very sweet, pungent smokey smell of something that I believe to be legal in California now.....

Worried, we started to call around other hotels in Bishop whilst sat in the office without success.

A young girl eventually appeared who checked her availability and found us a room on the second floor. She took payment which was exactly the same as Trees were billing (to the cent).

The motel is dated and crumbling. Access to the second floor (UK 1st floor) is via external concrete steps which are literally crumbling. The room was very basic: 2 double beds, TV, small bathroom with sink, shower cubicle, toilet and a tiny 'fridge which didn't work.

The room looked like it had been refurbished recently and appeared clean. It was adequate for our stay, but I wouldn't see it as anything other than a staging place to travel onward.

Breakfast is very basic with squash (not juice), coffee, cereals and pre-packed pastries, left in a small cabin by a small unheated pool which we didn't use.

By all means stay here, but do so open-eyed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The rooms smell, the service is really really bad, there is no way to call into the room and they won't get a message to any of the guest. There is no way to call in and they say that they expect that everyone who stays there has a cell phone. The staff is the rudest that I have ever encountered!!!! Do yourself a favor and buy a tent to stay at the campground.

Room Tip: Best Western Inn
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianefourmentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Passing through I needed a room for a couple nights. I booked in advance but I later found out you'll see higher prices online than if you were to wait to the last day to book. Unless of course you're looking for a room during one of the popular three day weekends...then yes, book in advance. They do offer some discounted rates if you qualify. If you call directly, be sure to ask.

Being an older hotel in a small town the room was what I expected. It was a little dated and the bathroom countertop definitely needed some work. There was a small refrigerator in the room which came in handy. The TV was small but had numerous cable channels. The bed was pretty decent...so no complaints there. Plenty of parking too. I forgot my shaving bag at home...was hoping that maybe they could provide a traveler toothbrush. Nope, but I didn't really think they'd have one...just asking! Staff were friendly. No objections to staying here again in the future...as long as the price wasn't too high.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews