We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for in a lovely country pub”
Review of John Bunyan Pub

John Bunyan Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The John Bunyan is a beautiful family run country pub set in woodland on the edge of heartwood forest serving a wide range of food from ham egg and chips to local game home made specials and curries we also serve a large range of wine soft drinks and award winning beers.Also theres a log fire in the winter and large gardens for the summer months. We are also open all day at weekends in the summer months
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

This place is great. Where do I start? The location in heartwood forest, the friendly people, the great meals made to any requirement you need (my partner is vegan...I am not...but I even think their vegan stuff is amazing!)... huge garden with lots of umbrella tables, perfectly placed for cycling and rambling, lots of fun nights like quiz nights and special themed dinner evenings, so clean and decorated with wonderful things to look at, nice friendly people and amazing staff that go over and above for anyone who steps inside. It ticks every box and it's my favourite pub by a country mile in all of Hertfordshire. The lovely family who run it should be very proud of themselves. A real gem!

Thank kduf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at John Bunyan Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Family friendly pub in beautiful Hertfordshire countryside, fantastic food and friendly atmosphere would recommend to anyone

Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at John Bunyan Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The theory is great: a country pub in a secluded location ... quiet and relaxing.

The location is secluded but the welcome is far from relaxing, although it seems like the locals are treated differently - they take priority at the bar. Some other visitors that we started chatting to said the same, so we are not alone.

Having since been to pubs in the surrounding villages, this one seems best for locals only.

1  Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at John Bunyan Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Sorry you feel that way, I think you may have us mixed up with another pub. We welcome all with the same warm friendly welcome, hoping all will leave a local. If your free please come try our pub ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

A friendly country pub with tasty food and welcoming staff. Huge outdoor eating space perfect for the summer. Dog friendly as well!

1  Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at John Bunyan Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Popped in with our two bulldogs.
Tasty bit of lunch, and a great selection of beers.
Company was great, with the barman chatting jovially with everyone.
Highly recommended!

1  Thank clockwatch266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at John Bunyan Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Bunyan Pub also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to John Bunyan Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing