We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Cute little motel not too far from the town center. Has a cute pool too! The furniture is unique like your staying at your grandmas and not a hotel. Fireplace in the room. Price was reasonable, booked at the last minute.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Meken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

We had a recent small family reunion with friends and several small dogs.

We rented rooms at this Bavarian style lodge located near the center of town so the kids could walk to the lake and small stores.

The lodge has a various choices of both large and small suites so we were easily accommodated.

The staff is friendly and helpful and honors discount coupons we got on line from Big Bear Magazine

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LAFFSTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Upon arrival our doorknob was all jenky. Then discovered in the middle of the night that the doorknob would not turn and we were locked inside of our room. Decided to wait until morning to try to contact hotel staff. Luckily the place didn't catch fire because we would not have been able to escape. No phone in our room, but tried calling on cell phone starting at 6am. Since our dogs needed to get outside and we were increasingly becoming angry about being held prisoner, we managed to remove the window and screen. We were able to climb out over the plant box below the window and then lift our 50 lb dog through. Nobody in the office, tried the night window call box, no answer. Finally someone there at 8 am who responds with, "well what happened to the door?" By around 8:30, a cranky maintenance guy comes to our room and asks, "what happened to it?" As if it's our fault their old jenky doorknob broke. No, mention of, oh I'm so sorry you had to go through this... being held prisoner. Then he busts through the door, grumbles "I'll fix it later" and storms off.

We were so filled with anger at this point, just wanted to get the hell out of there. Stopped by the office to talk to who I believe is the owner. She was a little more apologetic, but still didn't seem to grasp how frustrating and potentially dangerous the situation was. Didn't offer a refund or discount, just an upgraded room with our next stay. Um, no thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dimark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

While making a last minute decision to travel to big bear, my husband and I had no place to stay and booked Black Forest due to the low price and availability on a holiday weekend. We didn't have the highest expectations and didn't need much so, it sufficed. I would say, the rooms are fine but pretty outdated. The A/C did not work (in the middle of summer) so, we slept with the window and balcony door open for air, while listening to cars passing by and smelling our neighbors cigarette smoke throughout the night. We brought our 20lb. dog and paid a $25 pet fee. Overall, it wasn't a fabulous experience but, it does the job if you need a place to lay your head for the night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LydiaSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Looks good, but the room that we had for one night seemed a little old and tired, the bathtub clogged after a shower, in general looked like if it could use some maintenance and a good clean up. Its located near the big bear village, the cabins look pretty and the host at the reception was really nice. I am sure that a little improvement will give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rmgmlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas H, Manager at Black Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for your review , we are working on renovating our lodge, we will work on the issues you mentioned .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
695 reviews
0.3 km away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
427 reviews
0.6 km away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
195 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: €65 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing