We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
6
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015

My wife booked this on Booking.com from New Zealand as we wanted a stopover between Granada and Cordoba. It is close to Alcala la Real, which is a nice little town with some great attractions including the hill fortress (see separate review). THe first thing to note is that the Hostal is not in Charilla itself (as per Tripadvisor directions), but in Hoya de Charilla, a further 10kms up a charming single track (paved) road in to the countryside. We were a bit anxious about the place being OK for the night, but as soon as we arrived it was clear the wife had made a good choice. It's in a beautiful location in a hamlet at the top of a valley, looking out across olive groves and the odd herd of goats, with their bells faintly echoing round the hills. THe hostal looks new inside and out. The patio restaurant would have been inviting except for the hint of rain in the air and the swimming pool likewise.
We were welcomed by the family with the daughter whose English was very good. THe room was lovely with en-suite shower, very comfortable bed and a view across the valley. The restaurant was quiet, but they said we could eat when we liked. We started on the patio, until the rain came again, with a nice bottle of Syrah produced in the next door valley. We were offered and very much enjoyed the (not on the menu) local dish of vegetables and cured ham and then had goat with potatoes and lamb cutlets with potatoes, both of which were excellent, unfussy country-style dishes. We too were then blessed with the un-named local minty liqueur, before retiring to bed for a comfortable night's sleep.
Breakfast was simple, but very good coffee and we went on our way to explore the back road above the hotel, which winds it's way through lovely countryside before coming out on to the highway between Jaen and Cordoba. A very good price for a lovely stay, thanks!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Skinny_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

It's off the beaten track but my god was a place. The family treat you like you part of the family. The food is amazing and house wine was excellent. We were taken up the farm to see the goats, sheep and the home grown vegetables. All of which we ate at our evening meal.

We cannot recommend this hotel enough. A short flight Granada and a break at our favourite hotel is our next plan!!!

If you want peace and quiet, excellent food, great company and the most comfortable bed. You need look no further. It is here!

If only we could do this in England!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank MrThomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were staying in a Cortijo just a few miles from Sierra De La Martina, so decided we'd eat out there one evening.

The restaurant/hotel is in a lovely setting in a bowl at the top of the hills above Charilla. As it was a warm evening we ate out on the terrace. Throughout the evening we were well looked after by the owner/waiter, his wife/cook and daughter/translator who were all very friendly and welcoming.

All the starters were excellent and, in retrospect we should have ordered complimentary dishes between us and shared. All were large portions and tasty. Mains were equally good and enjoyed by all. Drink was cheap. When we declined dessert and coffee, our host simply brought us mini (bite-sized) Magnum ices and a bottle of chilled herbal liqueur. He assured us when we said some were driving, that it did not matter as it was mainly water ... alcohol free. Needless to say, it packed a punch and he left us the bottle ... on the house.

This is a really friendly place, setting is good and you get good rustic cooking at a good price ... very enjoyable and easy to recommend you try it out for yourself

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews