We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic Italian, nice ambiance and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Pastaio

Il Pastaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Pastaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 318 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Beverly Hills
Cross street: Brighton Way
North Caldwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic Italian, nice ambiance and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

good reviews are accurate - called for a reservation-- food was delish-- try the calamari!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phylcnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    169
    52
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most authentic Italian restaurant in California!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The title is true according to Italian singer/actress Anna Marie Alberghetti (look her up on youtube - she sure could sing!). We ate next to her last year. This current visit we saw nobody famous here - rather unusual for this place. The food - from the bread to dessert - is delicious. My friend got Chicken Malanese - great for what it is - but not particularly exciting but it is only fried chicken! My fresh past with sea food was incredible. The do pack you together tightly - so if you're looking for a quiet, romantic, private dining experience - look elsewhere. If you're a people person who appreciates the best in Italian food - this place is for you!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank knightline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Al Dente! Alfresco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Perfect food, service and location.

Came for a visit from Florida and wanted great food with great people watching....FOUND IT!
Seems to be a good mix of locals and visitors combined for the perfect atmosphere on a beautiful day.

Lasagna with bolognese sauce with a nice chianti wine mmmmmm.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatesBestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Took me back to Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

excellent restaurant with excellent service .Flavoursome cooking at good prices.Very busy local restaurant .Need to book but worth waiting for ,the seafood pasta would have been perfecto except the scallops aint scallops .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bernardjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great meal and buzzing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Arrived in LA around 5pm on a Saturday night and realizing had not had the foresight to book something (been on travelling for 5 weeks, so losing steam), quickly hit trip advisor for some ideas. This rated no 2 in Beverly hills, but appeared to be reasonable price wise. Rang them, they warned us they were busy and although we could put our names down there would be an approx 30 minute wait. They were true to their word, we arrived at 7.30 to "check in" went for a 20
min wander up the st, came back and waited for around 10 mins and voila, a table was ready. I understand restaurants not taking bookings to get maximum people through the doors, but if they don't have a suitable waiting erea, it is very tricky. During our 10 minute wait we generally felt that we were in everyone's way, no matter where we stood - awkward and uncomfortable. Nevertheless, finally seated, took the waiter quite a while to attend to us, but when he finally arrived he was quite charming. The food was good -bresaola to start was delicate of flavour and delicious, maybe a little chewy. Beet root risotto yummy, husband happy with his veal chop, parpadele with ragu really tasty, pasta obviously homemade, and ravioli good - sauce maybe a little salty? Deserts were good, not amazing, but we still gobbled up, so everyone happy. All in all we enjoyed our meal and would definitely go back again. I think the trick is probably to book for either around 6.30 or 8.30 for a lesser wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katstrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pastaio also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to Il Pastaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing