We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful flat with awesome scenery”
other travellers have booked this property
A blustery day.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A blustery day.
The living room has views of the bay, San Francisco and bridges.  There is a TV in the cabinet. The 4th of July from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
A blustery day.
The living room has views of the bay, San Francisco and bridges.  There is a TV in the cabinet.
The 4th of July from the deck.
The front of the house and parking area.  The gate leads down to the flat.
The living room.  The door leads to the bedrooms, family room and laundry room.
Living room with eating area that can be extended.  Door on right goes to office and kitcen.
Dining area
There are additional dining chairs and tables available for larger groups.
Wisteria in April
The Kitchen is fully stocked.
The kitchen eating area has a view of the hills and bay.
The beautiful bay.
The master bedroom has an en suite bathroom and a walk in closet.
The seating area in the master bedroom overlooks the hills.
The master bathroom has a custom, limestone shower and a view of the hills.
The family room's couch folds out to a comfortable queen bed and there is an extra cot for children.
The library in the family room has numerous books and games.  The TV is in the cabinet.
The hall to the family room and master bedroom.  The entrance to the laundry room is to the right.
The second bedroom has and en suite bathroom, a queen bed and a view of the hills.
There are antique doors on the closet in the second bedroom.
The second bathroom has an antique tub and custom limestone surround.
El fresco dining on the deck.
The stairs off the deck lead to the private parking area.
It's all in the details.
The office if full of information about the bay area.
The laundry room has extra linens, an iron, a vacuum and cleaning supplies.
SF Bay Views
Wisteria covers the home in the spring.
Parking area and gate
A view of the house from across the canyon.
gate detail
The setting sun cradled in the Golden Gate.
Four shots of the view sent to me by a guest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berkeley, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tiina H
1 review
“Beautiful flat with awesome scenery”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The flat is beautiful and functional, located in a peaceful and nice neighborhood on the hillside. A short distance to the services of Berkeley, however a car is needed. Easy to exercise by walking in the hillside. Gillian (the owner) is very helpful and advises you to find the best places in Berkeley area. We warmly recommend the Hillside flat.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you Tiina! It was wonderful to meet you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner D
Rastede, Germany
2 reviews
“Phantastic stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in January 2016

While being on sabbatical at UCB we were able to rent Gillian´s phantastic flat on Grandview Drive in Berkeley for 6 weeks, and then took the next chance of a visit to Berkeley to return to this place where we felt so at home and so well welcomed and supported by Gillian. We could not have made a better choice:
- the view over the bay is just phantastic, and sitting on the terrace or at the dinner table overlooking the bay is unbeatable
- the apparment has all what you can wish: it is spacious, it is charming, it is well maintained
- Gillian is a charming and very helpfull host

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you Werner! Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandash99
Lubbock, TX
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible and Highly Recommended Experience”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I had the very fortunate experience to work in the bay area for an entire month. I decided to rent a house rather than stay in a hotel. My husband was able to join me, and we opened the invite to our family and friends who might want to come and have a place to stay as well. Over the course of the month, each week we had a set of visitors. This place was absolutely perfect. It feels like you are in an entirely different world. During the day you are in the hustle and bustle of the city, but retreat back to this seeming surreal world with amazing views, wildlife, and relaxed comfort.
The layout and design of the rental is very well thought out - stylish yet homey. Gillian has done an excellent job of stocking the kitchen with staple utensils, pots, pans, spices, etc. We didn't find ourselves lacking for anything - which tends to be a concern when renting a place you intend to do real cooking in. She has also thought through so many other details to make your stay comfortable.
As the pictures show, the views are unbeatable. Additionally, Gillian was very quick to respond to any needs or questions that we had. She is friendly, but yet unobtrusive so you never feel like "the land lady is watching".
You have approximately 10 steps down from the driveway, and you enter the unit from the balcony (read stunning views here). When you enter, there is a more formal living area with a sofa that faces the balcony and views, and a dining table. To the right is the kitchen and office. Continuing down the hallway, the first door on your left is the first bedroom and en suite. Across the hall from that bedroom is the large laundry room. Continuing down the main hallway is more of the "den" with books and games which then ultimately ends at the doorway into the 2nd bedroom and en suite bathroom. The Den area has a foldout bed, and cot. The front living area has a door that can close it off from the remainder of the house. So know that if you are getting up early and starting some coffee,you can close that door to prevent disturbing someone sleeping on the couch in the den - very well designed.
The drive up the mountain can feel a tad daunting at first, but with a day or 2, I had it memorized and it was very routine. I clocked it as only 7 minutes to the main road. With average traffic, we could be parking in downtown SF in 30 minutes.
There is a lot of wonderful natural light, but if you are not a morning person, you may want to bring a sleep mask. Gillian has wonderful resources for the regional information - books, magazines, pamphlets, maps, restaurant menus.
I loved showing off the pictures of the awesome place we stayed in the bay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and would stay there again if presented the chance. Book it now and enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Dear Ashley, It was a pleasure to have you here this summer. Thank you for the informative review. I just might need to use it for my description on the listing!.
Best wishes, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaBe367
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect condo in the hills of Berkely with an outstanding view over the San Francisco bay”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ten days we (from Germany) enjoyed this large and wonderfully furnished condo in a perfect location from where one can go great excursions. We enjoyed the hospitality of Gillian and every day here as if would it have been our home. We were so happy about our descision to book this condo instead of a hotel in SF. So after a long day of many impressions we enjoyed every evening with a californian wine and a great view without or with fog on SF ;-)
By car you can reach downtown of SF in 30 minutes and the SFO airport in about 45 minutes. Or you can use the nearby BART station (subway) in Berkely to go to San Francisco.
If we would be comming back to San Francisco or near that area, this spot would always be our first choice!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
It was lovely having you here and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back in the near future. Best wishes, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit B
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“We found the best place to stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spend 6 days in Gillians wonderful house. We arrived really tired and tumbled around from a road trip all over the western states. Arriving was like coming to some kind of heaven. We just walked around in the house with one big smile. The view, the ongoing rooms, the air in the house, the jungle like feeling on the back of the house, the chance for every family member to feel private in separate rooms. The interior decoration, the generosity from the host, the information put in the office. The kitchen, the feeling of being at home that just got to us immediately. Not to speak about the area, Berkeley, the drive up to the house, the people in the street, the little grocery store. We will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the view
Liked least: the dog upstairs barking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
It was wonderful to have you stay here. Come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing