We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, service”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was my second, three night stay here. The rooms have been refurbished, are super quiet, have a fridge and microwave, and are a terrific value at around $65 per night. It comes with breakfast, but since I am gluten and dairy free, there isn't anything that I can eat except the coffee and juice. The staff was very helpful, and I felt safe as a single traveler. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peacefultravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    131
    67
    18
    17
See reviews for
91
62
55
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at the Rideway as the Holiday Inn on University we normally stay in was full. Most of the reviews on tripadvisor were positive and we were glad we stayed. Half the price of the Holiday Inn, and other than the rooms being somewhat smaller, hardly any difference. Spotlessly clean with everything you need to hand. The rooms are small but are more than adequate. Really helpful and very polite staff on front desk and the room cleaning staff have a great eye for detail. Great value for the money, we will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zigazag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very good location near UC Berkeley. Rooms are clean, small, ac/heater, recently renovated, fridge, microwave, hair dryer. Coin laundry room. Breakfast consists of frozen waffles, french toast, yogurt, juices, coffee. For $79-89 it is a very good deal. there is a very good Thai restaurant in front of the hotel that is reasonably priced for a quality meal.
For the price, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: corner rooms are quieter. There is only one floor easy to drive in and park in front of your unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, General Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you appreciated our amenities. We take pride in keeping our rooms clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays from the Berkeley Rodeway Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

As another reviewer mentioned, I can't believe this is the number 2 hotel in Berkeley on Trip Advisor. It was clean, but really dated. The bedspread was kind of dingy and the TV really old, but it served its purposes for the one night we stayed there. There is granite in the bathroom, which is probably why the motel is advertised as updated. We appreciated the free wifi and breakfast. The courtyard layout of the motel is also nice. Overall, it was a decent hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I want to start by saying that I don't make a practice of writing reviews, but I am so pleasantly surprised by this place that I feel the need to give it it's due props.

First off, the energy of the place is great. It is enclosed on three sides, with a fountain in the center. One feels cozy and peaceful here all day. The rooms are immaculate, the furnishings and decor is simple and tasteful. For a hotel stay on a budget this place is really nice: plenty to eat for breakfast, onsite laundry, bus stops going east and west on the same block, a sweet coffee shop just down the block, satellite television, excellent proximity to downtown Berkeley and the UC campus. Also, if you like to take walks the local neighborhoods are quite charming and you can easily walk to downtown. I considered staying at someplace posh over in Emeryville, but I'm so glad I chose this place. I'll always stay here whenever I come back.

Room Tip: It looks as though there may be some corner rooms that don't have a view into the parking lot, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitri108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,245 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.4 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
1.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Property: Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing