We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay there they rip me off refund my credit card I'll take legal action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Didn't stay got ripped off want my money back forward it to the card same card I purchased with. I can't believe that they did this house stay there before I think I went and booked it online it was the wrong number who change the address on me and I had no idea so I had to pay at the hotel when I got there they charge me twice

Room Tip: Did not staying I got ripped off I need my credit card refunded please that is all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 348kennethp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Sorry to inform you of this, but you had a guaranteed reservation booked through booking.com that you did not honor. If you have a dispute with this transaction, I advise you to contact booking.com and take your issue up with them. We honored our end of the situation by holding a reservation for you on a night that we were completely booked.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Very clean, nice friendly staff. Rooms have been updated a bit but between the thin walls and old windows, noise is a problem both with traffic and your neighbors. Good value but not as close to campus as I had hoped. Lyft makes it very easy to get back and forth.

Room Tip: Walls are very thin along with windows. Can hear your neighbors quite clearly. Sometimes not a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B1426BCmichelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Bed was hard as a rock. The only pillows were 3 10x10 decorative pillows not even standard bed pillows. The room was cold and drafty with no way of turning on the wall heater. Had to use the ceiling mounted oscillating fan for noise to drown out the sound of the street and parking lot. They have made some obvious cosmetic improvements in the rooms but it’s no doubt still a by the night motel. We disliked the room so much that we were up and checked out by 7am

Room Tip: Pillows were small 10x10 decorative pillows. Bed was hard as a rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank codyb535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thanks for the feedback! I apologize you found our establishment not to your liking. You stayed on a brand new mattress and if our pillows were not fulfilling enough, feel free to ask for more, we have plenty to go around. Our staff is always willing to help out. There's a thermostat on the wall to adjust the heat and yes, a fan to move the air if you choose. Unfortunately, there's not much I can do about city street noise, we're in a somewhat busy city which creates noise, but also tons of fun which we are surrounded by! Thanks again for the feedback, we can always use it to improve ourselves and our property.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

It is not fancy, in fact it is a simple place, but it is clean, the room has enough space and has an excellent location.

Close to the hotel it is very easy to find places to shop, restaurants, bars and very close to the BART station, to go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I was traveling for work and stayed there for 6 nights, I didn't have anything to complain about, the cleaning lady kept my room clean and tidy everyday and she was always adding/replacing the towels and the bed sheets. The guys at the front desk were always very friendly and happy to answer all my questions about everything.
I definitely recommend this place :)

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Ayman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
3.5 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
81 reviews
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
363 reviews
1.1 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1318
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: €76 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing