We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
27
46
32
13
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
46
32
13
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower pressure quick drive san francisco parking lot bart station oakland
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This is a primarily one level "old school" lodging that was probably built in the 1930's or 40's in classic California style. The check in was very easy and the front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. They had a flood in some rooms and my reserved double queen room was replaced with a single queen and my account was credited for the difference immediately. This place is old, and sadly, a bit shabby. But it is clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but for one night, it's ok. The shower was great. Lots of hot water and excellent water pressure. This is across the street from the famed Acme bread and within walking distance of Whole Foods, restaurants, and shops. Fieldwork Brewing and the UC campus are about a mile away. This is a pretty basic "you get what you pay for" motel. It's too bad someone didn't get a hold of this property and restore it to its original roots instead of the kind of wonky remodel they apparently did. It has the potential to be very charming, even if it isn't exactly up to today's standards for size and amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank obleak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thanks for the comments and yes, the property was built in 1946 and holds classic California style. We are currently renovating the rooms with hardwood floors, etc. but also want to keep as much of the original charm as possible. Come check it out next time you're in town, we would love your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is a mom and pop motel. For the area, which is very expensive, it is not bad. I would certainly recommend if you are just passing through for the night. I was in town for business and the wifi was out the entire time I was there. And, while the room was clean, it was very outdated. It was a no frills type of stay. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. The neighborhood was great though with lots of food and the university nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyanyika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I enjoyed the walkable location on San Pablo Avenue and was able to visit many shops and restaurants that were good. The front office staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic and clean. We stayed in the single level portion and parking was convenient outside our door. I would return because of price, location and the kindness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back off San Pablo Avenue. It will be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

A very old and seedy property, definitely limit your stay to one night. Filthy carpets, linens, and bathroom. No air con, limited internet, and a clientele that will make you want to run away. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...............
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank michael755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We were told in advance that the neighborhood was "edgy" but experienced no safety problems at all. Quiet and clean with comfortable beds, lovely toiletries, great service and free parking. A few blocks from Whole Foods where we ate breakfast daily. Affordable basic accommodations in an expensive part of the state.

Please note: We were initially offered a room with an unpleasant odor but were immediately given a different room at our request.

Also: Yes, homeless people are everywhere in Berkeley. Very sad but true. They never approached us, and it seems they keep to themselves. You will see them constantly but they will not interact with you in any way.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sine-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews