We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
27
47
32
13
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
47
32
13
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower pressure quick drive san francisco parking lot bart station oakland bay
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We were told in advance that the neighborhood was "edgy" but experienced no safety problems at all. Quiet and clean with comfortable beds, lovely toiletries, great service and free parking. A few blocks from Whole Foods where we ate breakfast daily. Affordable basic accommodations in an expensive part of the state.

Please note: We were initially offered a room with an unpleasant odor but were immediately given a different room at our request.

Also: Yes, homeless people are everywhere in Berkeley. Very sad but true. They never approached us, and it seems they keep to themselves. You will see them constantly but they will not interact with you in any way.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sine-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Always a nice place to go to when you're in Berkeley clean, the people that work here are kind helpful!
Also proud to say this is my third time staying here and for the price and the beauty and the best hot water for shower"s

I would highly recommend this place it's worth it the price is right!
P.S to whomever said there were bed bugs in this place I don't think so never has when I was here and Now
Thanks American best value

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I have been on a week-long trip that began in the LA area and included hotels in various touristy locations. The Golden Bear had TripAdvisor reviews on a par with most of the other hotels, but ended up costing more than the others while delivering less. As a result, we feel we grossly overpaid for this place.

The desk agent who checked us in was quite nice. That's the good news.

Based on others' reviews, I'm guessing there might be rooms at this motel that are OK...but it's hard to believe any deserve better than a poor to average rating.

We have a queen bed room on the first floor. While there's cable (Comcast), the wall mounted TV looks ridiculously small on the large wall.

The room and bathroom suffer from long-term lack of maintenance. Neglect has led to dirt, mildew and poor appearance. It's hard to believe we paid nearly $150 a night for such poor accommodations. Never again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank SusanAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write your feelings down for us. Yes, we are under some renovations at the moment, the bathrooms especially. As you were witness to, they need some tender loving care which we are working on at the moment. It's never an easy process and does take some time. I've credited you back some of your nights charges and encourage you to check out the rooms when our work on them is done, they're shaping up quite nicely. Thanks again for your feedback and safe travels home.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This little motel is outdated and needs to update outlets to hold plugged devices but that is really my only complaint, water was hot, room was clean, no bug bites, and air that worked. We chose this thru Hotwire and proximity to the train station. Hotwire auto assigns a single room with them but they quickly set up q cot and did not charge extra so I give them a 4. Wifi was also decent!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thanks Erika for the feedback. We are continuously working to update the facility. It's an older building so we are constantly working to improve and maintain it. One neat thing we are doing right now is laying hardwood floors in the rooms. I hope you have a chance to come back and see them when we are done, they look really sharp! Thanks again for the comments.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Very clean, well maintained property with a helpful friendly staff. A refreshing experience. Restaurants and shopping are close. Great place for breakfast across the street. Ask the front staff for directions. We'll make a point on staying there again next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Front desk people are very informed on local events/attractions
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GordieSeaquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thanks for the awesome comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews