We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here in September and it was quiet, pleasant, and clean. The continental breakfast is very generous with cereal, muffins, bagels, pastries, coffee, juice - you name it, very nice presentation. Rooms were also clean and the staff was incredibly friendly. We would definitely stay here again. Some people are not fair in their reviews, this is a Quality Inn not the "W", there was nothing wrong with this place that we could find and we are picky people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1realitycheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
33
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Location is great, ~10-15 minutes from Santa Cruz and away from perpetual costal overcast. Beyond the location we were not pleased overall. We could hear outside noise at night easily but found we could drown it out by running the fan/cooler, which worked fine for us. Pool water looked green from afar but found to be clean just in need of repair/update which was also acceptable for us. Room (#106) was sufficient enough in size but had terrible humidity every time we came back to it, on the last day we identified areas of probable water damage on wall in bathroom near tub. I did not share with office, I felt they were already aware since the fan/cooler was running upon check in and upon a couple returns from daily excursions.

Room Tip: Do not take room #106
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyp_tk421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ben Lomond hotels

ny/nj
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Nice hotel redwoods growing on property, walking distance to restaurants & the supermarket. State parks nearby with beautiful hiking trails

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loislaneNy/nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at this motel after initially being booked into a different one in the same area (upon site inspection of the other one, decided that we couldn't stay) - what a good decision that was. We stayed 3 nights to be close to a family member living in Boulder Creek. The room was comfortable (albeit slightly small for the 3 of us - one adult, two teenagers), clean and well-equipped. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful - I felt very welcomed. The rate included a continental breakfast which provided a range of options, as well as free Wifi in the room, exactly what we were looking for. I'd be happy to stay here again and would certainly recommend it if you are looking for a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBTLC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was our second time staying at this hotel/motel, the first time was a couple of years ago when it was an Econolodge. We don't usually stay at budget hotels, but given the limited options in the area, this seemed like our best bet and, although we were expecting the worst, we were pleasantly surprised the first time we stayed (when it was an Econolodge) - it was clean and pleasant, not creepy or weird.So, we chose this place again based on our positive last experience, and it did not disappoint. Although basically the same, there are a few improvements/additions since we stayed last. There is a very small sit-down breakfast area with cereal, hardboiled eggs, make your own waffles, coffee, juice, etc. offered from 6:30 to 9:30. As previous reviews have stated, yes it is very small and the options aren't that great , but it did not exist last time we stayed, the included breakfast when we stayed as an Econolodge was basically some packaged danish things by the check-in desk. If you're looking for a decent breakfast though, probably a better bet is to visit some of the local restaurant spots, but if you just want to grab something quick before hitting the road, this is fine (although my hubby did tell me the fruit loops were stale and he had to throw it out, oh well). The furniture in the rooms has been updated, there are new fridge/TV consoles, new bedding, new nightstands/headboard, and they have added a new desk and ergonomic chair (these were not there before). They are fine, standard stuff, we liked the empty fridge as opposed to a mini-bar as it was more useful given the activities we had planned. Wi-fi was great the whole time and free. Bathtub was very shallow but very long, not that great for short people who like to soak after a long hike, but if you just take showers or are just happy to have a tub, I guess it doesn't matter. What you should know before you go: they appear to have some kind of advance reservation discount policy, so the earlier you book, the more likely you will get a cheaper rate - we booked maybe a month or so before our stay and got a standard king bed room for under $100 (less than the same rate we got a couple years ago), but when we looked again, those rooms were booked, and their queen standard rooms were going for $189! - probably walk-ins are even more expensive. Also when we arrived, we were given a room at the very left side of the hotel. This room was very dark because its one window faced toward the side instead the front, and the light was obstructed by some suite/cabin building. Plus, the room seemed cramped and the bed was definitely queen-sized (avoid the side rooms if you can). I'm not sure how we were initially given this room, but I'm not going to speculate - just make your wishes known as the brochure in the room says! Rooms in the motel/hotel facing the pool/street/front have more light, and probably are overall roomier. So, I did go down to request a room facing the front, and the lovely person at the check-in counter readily gave us the room I was expecting. Don't expect to frolic in the pool, it was gross the first time we stayed and it is still gross-looking and algae-y, and they stated in the hotel folder that it was only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day anyhow. The hotel has some BBQ grills which are right next to a tiny creek separating it from a small interesting-looking pink Scottish castle, which I think is for rent? Anyhow, this Ben Lomond is a quirky cool pace to visit and stay when exploring the Santa Cruz Mountain area and when I go again, I plan to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xcluex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ben Lomond
8.6 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
12.0 km away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
13.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
6.1 km away
Fern River Resort Motel
1.2 km away
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
#2 of 3 in Ben Lomond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Address: 9733 Highway 9, Ben Lomond, CA 95005-9204 (Formerly Coast Redwood Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains, a relaxing resort Inn located near The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and coastal beaches located near Santa Cruz, California. Our newly rejuvenated Inn features various room appointments, signature amenities and award- winning hospitality to make your perfect Santa Cruz, CA getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Ben Lomond
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Ben Lomond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing