We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
26
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We visited this lovely place during our two day trip to Saaremaa. There are all modern comforts in the main house but you can actually get the old rural feeling - furniture is old, beds are huge, open fireplace which you can heat yourself and the owners are warm and kind. Overall atmosphere is just right.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kairi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed here for just one night during a cycling tour of Estonia, but what a pleasant, invigorating stay it was. The owners can cook you an evening meal and we rang to request one. Unfortunately they were unable to oblige that night but the owner was most apologetic. When we arrived about 7.30pm it turned out we had the entire place to ourselves. In lieu of providing a meal the owner gave us an entertaining tour of his collection of farm implements and the property in general (most convivial) and then lit the sauna for us. There is also a rarely-seen smoke sauna on the farm but this takes days to get going properly. There was beer in the fridge, a lovely big comfortable bed and utter peace. The next morning the owners slipped quietly in and left breakfast on the table for us. We were extremely sad to have to get on our bikes again and pedal off.

Room tip: If you go slightly off season (we were there at the end of June) there is a chance that there will be very few others there, giving you the place to yourselves
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 April 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, whilst driving around Saremma, and visiting Estonia. This was our favourite place to stay by far.
Annika and Uku were so kind, warm, and full of humour.
We stayed in one of the traditional log houses, and were the only guests - it was big with 3 bedrooms, but cosy too.
The stone fireplace, breakfast, bed, everything was perfect, and I'm critical, travelling regularly on business.
Breakfast was huge - porridge, pancakes, boiled eggs, bread, cheese, jam, tea and coffee, and just for us. (The eggs from a neighbour's chickens, the honey produced by U+A's own bees.)
The property is very close to the sea, beautiful drives and walks everywhere - solitude is yours.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-Bettina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My fiance and I stayed at Laugu Turismitalu in January for 6 nights and it was brilliant. The owners Uku and Anneka were fantastic from start to finish. They picked us up from Ratla (where the bus from Tallinn dropped us) and drove us to the house. Uku had lit all the fires which meant it was really warm and cosy for our arrival. They also gave us lots of information on where to go and what to do on Saaremaa in winter.

The house is a beautiful traditional house with lovely bedrooms, a great kitchen, wet-room bathroom, and sauna. We wanted peace and quiet and it was the perfect place for this. Bus services are not regular, so we rented a car in Kurressare (highly recommended) to get around.

Uku and Anneka even gave us a tour of their land and very interesting little museum next to the house. We were very sad to leave at the end of the week, but said we'd return, especially for more of the homemade honey our hosts gave us.

Thanks for the great stay.

Tim and Sadie

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We made a round tour with our family in the Baltic region, and of all the places to stay, this was my favourite in advance and I expected it to be wonderful.
It turned out even better!
Firstly, it was easy to find, even though our GPS decided it couldn't calculate, once we entered the islands. My husband noted as we turned on to the gravelled road, that he'd be very surprised if the place was really here. (And it was :)
Secondly, the landlord arrived in 20 minutes, and was friendly: had brochures and map of the island, gave info on the best beaches, places to see, shop to use.
The establishment is beautiful. It is a garden with this main house (the red one), where there is a downstairs and an upstairs apartment. We got the downstairs one, where there are 3 bedrooms and it is advertised for max 6 people, but I think it is quite ready to accomodate 9 people, as beds are so wide as my Frenchbed here at home.
Apart from this house, there are several other smaller houses on the estate, a swing and sandpit for kids to play, benches and a griller, so you can sit outside and have a fiery picnic for dinner. As a curiousity, the landlord has an old-fashioned smoke sauna, and a shed full of old tools you should definitely see. He said it is a small museum, and indeed we saw museums in the Baltic which didn't have this much stuff!
The garden is huge, plotted with apple trees, currant bushes, flowers and boulders, so the kids enjoyed the running around and climbing too. The only improvement that could be made here is to place a few sunbeds.
The apartment itself is homely and cosy. Every surface is covered with colourful rugs and cloths, shelves have clutter such as old milkjugs, but it gives you a grandma-feeling instead of being suffocating, so it takes the breath away. Everything is from wood, and applied with local hardware (doorhandles etc), so it gives a very authentic feeling. There are two showers in the shower room, so it is ideal for pairs/families, and the kitchen has washing machine and dishwasher too (and micro and oven). The only thing missing is more plates and cutlery, but there is even some food (salt, spices, tea, coffee etc). Be careful with the water as it comes from a well, so it is safer to boil before drinking.
There is no sofa in the living room, however, but a huge table with benches, and although there is a TV it is placed in the corner so for a full day I didn't even notice it as the center piece on the comode is an old radio :) (We never used the TV though, the garden is much better.)
You don't know what you miss if you miss this out, so go and book it now!

Room tip: We've been to the main house, downstairs apartment, but all neighbours said it was a wonderful place and assued us we'd have a great time here :)
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisz_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KihelkonnaSuvekodu, Owner at Laugu Turismitalu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Krisz,

thank you very-very much for feedback and our family is very proud that this is so postive. We are very happy, that you like our farm and your idea about sunbeds is so good, that we plan to buy 3 pcs. in next weeks. Do you think that this is enough for the beginning? Then we are ready for next summers already.
We have plates and cutlery for 20 persons in the livingroom, but now we know, that we have to point for families, where they are situated. Also very good information!
Our farms drinking water is not coming from this old style well in our garden, which by the way happens to be a spring and it is active from september/october till may usually. Our drinking water comes specially from deep inside the ground through tubes and is inspected according to standards. Dear Krisz, thank you again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews