We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
102
102
64
33
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
102
64
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles front desk truck driver los angeles walmart rates highway yosemite
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I haven't been to Bakersfield for awhile. This hotel always meets my expectations. The staff here are remarkable. They seem to care on every need and request you ask for without hesitation. They seeem to keep the same staff cause they all know me by name , all familiar faces when I go there. Pricing is affordable and breakfast is included in the price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Travelor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us once again, we are delighted to be your hotel of choice in Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. We hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here twice on my way to and from Yosemite - Los Angeles.

Rooms were clean, spacious and staff friendly.

Directly off the highway, this hotel of the chain is opposite a shopping centre; Walmart, Aldi, Lowes so is great if you need to pick up supplies.

I pulled in because the highway sign said rates start from $45.99 but both times I paid around $67 including taxes, internet and breakfast.

Would recommend for a night stop over whilst on the road.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank 842FemaleNomad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi Natalie, Thank you for your very thorough review. We appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stays and we do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

For the few weeks that I have been staying here, the service has been really good. Along with the staff, very helpful and friendly. It is not too far from any type of amusement you seem to seek. Everything is fairly close, even a local Wal-mart. The rooms is good, bed is comfortable, and also the pillows are soft. Breakfast is from a good hour, not your normal 6-9a.m. So if you a truck driver this is the place for you. Easy access to the freeway. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioR231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi Gio, We are very pleased to hear that our location suited you so well, and that our staff were so helpful to you. We certainly aim to please our guests to the very best of our ability. We appreciate your review, thank you, and we are delighted to note that you intend to stay with us again. We can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Was a wonderful stay at the Vagabond Innn South...friendly people and all of the amenities... loved that you had a laundry and such a great breakfast every morning... many thanks to you all for such great service...even free WIFI!

Next time I stay in Bakersfield it will be at the Vagabond Inn South!

Room Tip: Loved having the refridgerator and micro... thank you!
Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F1059FQsarahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Sarah, We're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room with friendly service, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon - we'd love to welcome you back. Warm regards, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

If you simply need a place to sleep as you travel on I-5 or CA 99 and a quick bite to eat, this is a good bargain. The room is very basic and with a lot of road noise from Panama Lane. Nothing fancy in this dated motel. Free breakfast offers little more than "make your own waffles". You can eat at the adjacent Denny's or walk a block to In 'n Out Burger, Wendy's, or Jack in the Box . There is also a Starbucks and a Walmart across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Robert, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you benefited so much from our convenient location. Thanks very much for your review, in particular your comments about how comfortable and clean your room was. We really hope that you'll visit this area again, and that you will allow us to be your hosts!

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews