We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
115
150
72
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
150
72
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concierge lounge ample free parking full service hotel breakfast buffet amtrak station king room business hotel rooms are clean fitness room outdoor pool front desk staff nines convenience couch
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We travel a lot through Bakersfield and wanted to try a different hotel this time around. The Marriott was a nice change, great accommodating checkin, good sized rooms and it was very quiet. This is definitely a business hotel with people on a expense account, the food and drinks are not cheap. We had breakfast at the restaurant for convenience and it was very pricey ($34) for two people for eggs with ham, toast was $4 extra, really, coffee is also $4 extra. There were no coupons or perks. Unfortunately, there are no breakfast spots around this hotel so they get all the business ( a bit of price gouging to me). Anyway, we may consider this hotel again but only with some special offers. The hotel is undergoing renovation right now so it will be beautiful once it is done. My advice is don't get an adjoining room because the walls and door are very thin and you can hear everything, we had to switch our adjoining room as the people next door were already partying it us at 3:00 in the afternoon.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank olivia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Requested a king size bed one month in advance. The place was booked solid soon thereafter. We received a queen size bed. This was not satisfactory. All other things seemed to be OK, but the huge disappointment of not getting the bed size we requested overshadowed all other factors that go into a hotel review. This room was also a disabled access room, which, at first glance might be considered an asset--but it wasn't. The clothes hanger rod was too low, and clothing dragged on the floor. We were assigned a room many floors away from where the rest of our friends were. Yet we were among the earliest in our party to book a room! This is outrageous.

Room tip: reasonably quiet, room was roomy enough.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 260robertwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Bar was good. Some desk clerks who were checking in people were not very fast and asked too many questions senior desk clerk. Check in was SLOW!! We were sent to the 4th floor, while our party was on 2nd floor. Wasn't straightened out until past 5 pm. Beds were too soft and hard to sleep on. Hotel was beautiful.

Room tip: Don't go on convention week ends, which are many!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I stay at this property one night a month for business and have for the past year. The hotel is always clean and the staff friendly. Many of the rooms have been renovated, as has the member room on the 9th floor. All of the facilities on the property are well maintained. I normally eat at the bar (easy when traveling solo) and the food has always been good and the staff very nice.

Room tip: There are railroad tracks behind the hotel that can make for some noise, however I have never been bothered by it.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauhana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

At a recent family gathering for a cousin's funeral, my family reserved 3 rooms at the Marriott Downtown Convention Center and found the location to be very convenient to most major freeways and highways to attend to our events and found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. The rooms were larger than other Marriotts that I have stayed at and (gold level member) and air conditioner worked great for the outside temperature in the 100's. The bathroom was a little tight but plenty of water pressure, hot water and convenient bar fridge for storing cold drinks. The catering service was excellent and for a reception of over 300 guest, we never ran out of food or drinks. The bar and decor was modern and upscale, the restaurant was friend and efficient with a nice breakfast buffet. If you are on a business or family trip that brings you to beautiful downtown Bakersfield, this is a very good place to stay with ample free parking.

Room tip: Away from the elevators and above 3rd floor.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews