We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
141
177
147
101
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
177
147
101
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal palaceattached restaurantlarge poolwould stay againbed was very comfortablelas vegasbuckfreewaystopover
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

A pet peeve of mine are hotel rooms when you have only one chair. Our room actually had three chairs so we could each sit and read.The bed was comfortable, the room very large, very nice stay. The free breakfast served the next day was cooked to order in a restaurant like setting.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 1BookLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I occasionally drive to Vegas, and stop in Bakersfield to catch some z's before completing our journey. Have stayed at some truly sketchy places but I think I have found my go-to budget lodging! Right off freeway. An old-school, courtyard style hotel. While not fancy, it is very serviceable and comfortable. Our room was clean, and a decent size. Had a fridge and microwave. LED TV. In-room safe. Comfy bed and pillows. Air conditioner kept room nice and cool on an oppresively hot day. Great pool and hot tub. Diner on site - delightfully retro. Was provided a complimentary sit down breakfast, where you can chose one of several breakfast plates and a beverage (way, way nicer than continental or "breakfast room".) Employees from check in to check out were very friendly. The Red Lion Hotel definitely suited out needs. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank lupeanamiguelSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stay away from this place. The front desk staff were friendly but unhelpful, after searching through several trash filled hallways trying to find our room, we were greeted with a leaking bathroom, broken lamp, damp carpet, and cockroaches. We immediately booked a room elsewhere. Just say no.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please know that if you are not getting the response you are looking for, there is always a Manager Email you can respond your feedback. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We've always stayed here when passing through Bakersfield on our way to rafting the Kern River, thru it's identities as Ramada Inn, Best Western, and now Red Lion. The place has changed very little. Comfortable but not luxurious, friendly staff, and a nice pool for hanging out both during the day and evenings. No complaints and we'll be back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us even though you had a few challenges at first. We are happy to see you returning here. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Well where do I begin. Let's start at check-in. Check in time on our booking was from 3pm. We arrived around 2.30pm. We arrived in the USA from New Zealand on the 1st July and arriving a little early has not been a problem and we have stayed in a lot of hotels from LA to New York and in between. So went to reception and told earliest we could check-in was maybe 4.15pm. I asked why "I know we are early is our room not ready?" Answer " No we have water issues" . Then my husband found a note on the door advising that no check ins allowed between Noon and 4pm due to water maintenance. Receptionist was the most impersonal person I have come across in my life - no smile or sorry. No suggestions about what we could do to fill in time. So we found something to occupy our time and arrived back around 6pm. Now to second attempt to check in. Room ready and off we go. Room 290 - mmm a hot day and no air-conditioning on (every other hotel we have stayed in had air-conditioning on so that we walked into a cool room). Room had a strange smell. So now to Wifi. Apart from the hotel we stayed in New York we have had great WiFi connection to the point where we have occasionally Skyped our family in New Zealand. If you want Wifi connection in your room do not stay in this place because there was no in room Wifi connection. Yet on there website they say there is. Also thought we could eat at there restaurant but it is closed on Sundays and Mondays - sure that is not on there website. Complimentary cooked breakfast which we chose was 99%inedible for me. Cheese omelette and sausage. Both nearly warm. One bite of sausage was a turn off and omelette had clearly been cooked ages ago. And then the final nail in the coffin. Noticed we had a charge go through on our credit card for US$40 more than the room cost. On checking out we were told (not told at check in) that this was normal for this hotel and was charged to cover incidentals. Really not just a hold on our card but a charge. Never happened before in our travels in the USA. So a horrible experience from my point of view.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please know that if you are not getting the response you are looking for, there is always a Manager Email you can respond your feedback. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews