We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,418)
Filter reviews
13,418 results
Traveller rating
9,614
2,632
752
243
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,614
2,632
752
243
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french restaurant emerald suite don miguel privilege package main pool the lazy river pool breakfast and lunch room service silver suites two swim up bars sports bar the french onion soup coors light sushi bar michael jackson show other resorts la hacienda
Filter
Updating list...
3,138 - 3,143 of 13,418 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

This hotel quite literally has everything - a quiet pool for relaxing times, a more lively pool with activities, a beautiful beach, lots of choices for dinner.

Everything is very spread out, which was quite annoying if you forgot something in your room! But it did mean you got to walk around the stunning grounds.

NOTE - we booked through an agent who didn't highlight that almost all the restaurants required a dress code, which for men was long trousers and a collar. Luckily, my partner had had a couple of pairs of trousers, but most of his outfits were tailored shorts and nice shoes (apparently this isnt the fashion outside of Europe) and although much more smart than most of the long trouser outfits, crocs and what I would call gym polo tops, we were still turned away. But this didn't ruin the trip, just something to note!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mjarvis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Dear Recent VIM Guest from London, United Kingdom,

We are sincerely grateful for the kind words you have addressed to our attention, we are more than proud for having exceeded your expectations and much more for the honest review you have made, thank you so much for recommending our beautiful hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that the time you spent at Valentin Imperial Maya has surpassed your expectations, to hear that you left the hotel with such a g reat impression of our facilities reflect that the commitment of our team is giving great results as our main goal is to achieve our guests satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportinity to welcome you back in the near future, our Customer Care department will be more than happy to assist and to make of any future stay a wonderful and perfect vacation.

Kind regards from the sunny Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

For the 4th year, we spent our annual holiday at the Valentin with our dear friends John and Kathy and our new friends Sean and Yvonne.
As in the past, the resort exceeded expectations and provided us with the best vacation ever.
The list of servers and staff is too long to list but 2 people stood out: Jesus at the door and Suzanna on our last meal. Each person with who we came in contact with made us feel like this was our home. Thank you everyone.
The grounds and accommodations were impeccable and a hola was received from everyone we would pass on the way to the pool, beach or meals.
We will be back for our 5th trip next May with our friends and cannot wait for our next experience at the resort.
Do not give the other resort a 2nd thought-- if you want a vacation where the only decision that needs to be made is; do we start our day at the pool or beach, where do we want to eat and what type of adult beverage you want to consume.
We love the Valentin and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for building 5-- it is convenient to everything
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Halvenator P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Dear Recent VIM Guest from Minneapolis, Minnesota,

We are extremely happy to hear you have had another wonderful experience at VIM, every time a guest share a review on Trip Advisor we immediately share it with our management and staff in order to congratulate the big efforts every staff member makes, rest assured that we take good note of the suggestions as well since the most important thing at Valentin Imperial Maya is our customers satisfaction.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again for your 5th visit, as one of our most valuable guest, we appreciate the time you have taken to post the things you have enjoyed the most, the kind words you have addressed to Jesus and Susana, reflects that our commitment is being demonstrated with the warm attention and attentiveness we provide to all our visitors when visiting VIM.

Please, be so kind to inform our Customer Care department prior to arrival on May, we will be delighted to arrange the warmest welcome for you and your friends as your certainly deserve.

With all our appreciation and love,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I have no idea why this hotel is rated 5-star. The hotel was the single reason that took the fun out of our Cancun trip.

Pros.
(1) Staff are super sweet and nice. Unfortunately they have to stick to the stupid rules, so I am not blaming them (read the Cons about the rules). (2) The beach is very well kept. There was a guy walking around picking up cigarette buds from the sand. Also, no vendors on the beach. Ocean water is beautiful and clear. It's far from other hotels, so it's a very nice and peaceful beach experience. Had a lot of fun swimming during the day. (3) Loved their nightly dance floor with live music and dj, so much fun dancing. (4) The drinks are really good. I drank mostly margaritas because they were made perfect. Never had headaches from their alcohol in the morning. (5) Despite game room being outdated, it's the only thing that stays open late, until 2am. They have pool tables, darts, TV, and other games. They also bring in late night snacks there. (6) The pool area was nice and clean and they have basketball and volleyball you can play in the pool.

Cons
They have so many rules. RULES RULES RULES and they are serious about enforcing them. (1) Guys have to wear jeans at dinner, in 90F weather. Ridiculous. They wouldn't let us eat at their restaurants otherwise. We are PAYING for this. Better yet, we went to one restaurant Mar and got kicked out for wearing shorts. So we went back to the room and changed and when we got seated we notice other men were wearing shorts! Why are our shorts not allowed, but their shorts allowed? Just doesn't make any sense. We were very offended. If you are a 5-star hotel, you try to please the CUSTOMER any way you can, not have the customer be of service to you, to keep up some made-up pretentious image of the hotel. It's a VACATION, let the rules slide, who cares? (2) The pool closes way too early. We had to sneak in past 8pm and hide from the staff. The pool at my apartment in the US closes at 11pm and I can't even swim late on vacation. Disappointing. Also at the pool you can't get a pool Cabana unless you are part of their hotel membership club or whatever. (3) Beach closes at 5pm and you can't even take a night walk down the beach, they kick you out. Did I just arrive in Auschwitz? (4) Food quality is dirt poor. Only liked Tamarind restaurant with Asian food. Not even Mexican food was good. Bleh. (5) Woke up one morning to find a cockroach in the bathtub. That is unacceptable. (6) Some of the facilities, like the game room, are extremely outdated and smell like an old person's home. Just not acceptable for a "5-star" hotel. (7) Went to get beach towels for the 3 people in our suite, and the guy wouldn't give me more than two because it's two-per-room policy. WHAT??? Three people are paying to stay here!!!! (8) It says on the website that snorkeling gear is available, yet every single day we went to try to rent it, they had none available. The whole experience just a total let down.

Bottom line, I truly regret staying here and wish I had booked the AM Resorts, such as Now Sapphire or Secrets Capri, etc.I have always had a 5-star experience with AM Resorts in other parts of Mexico, like Cabo and Puerto Vallarta. I really wish I hadn't tried something new because you certainly don't get what you pay for at Valentin Imperial Maya. I paid extra than I initially planned because I wanted this trip to be extra nice and relaxing. Due to the hotel's policies it was far from it. I DON'T recommend this hotel and I WON'T be back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyklagalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear Recent VIM Guest from San Diego, California,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience at VIM, although we are delighted for the positive feedback, we are sad to hear that we were not able to surpass your expectations this time, our management has received your comments and suggestions and rest assure that improvement measures will be applied if necessary.

We are extremely sorry for the fact you did not find comfortable the dress code and we regret for the fact you were not aware of this policy before visiting our property, as you know, the propics are well known for warm temperatures during all the seasons, however our restaurants are well prepared to face the warmth as they have air conditioning system.

It is sad to hear your perception since most of the 5 stars hotels at the Mayan Riviera has improved similar or stricter dress code measures in order to provide a fancy and luxurious experience while in vacations, the main reason we are ranked as a 5 star hotel is because of the lucury services we provide that creates an unique gourmet experience.

Sadly we did not were informed about your concerns, otherwise we would have recommended you to visit our Mar y Tierra restaurant where formal bermudas are allowed.

During years we have gained the confidence of thousand of people around our and we have not received further complaints regarding dress code, we would like to suggest to visit our web page when visiting our property again in order to confirm the services we provide, information which is also well known by the agencies and tour operators we work with and that is also provided during registration process during check in.

My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Again, I will say this is a great spot for pure relaxation. Do not miss a trip to the spa here, the therapists are amazing and every time I go I have the most incredible massages!
The food is consistently good but my favorite is the Indonesian restaurant.
I opt for the privilege package since I am in and out in three days on these excursion sand I want the bed by the ocean to relax and nap. You would be very comfortable in the not privilege section and have direct access to the ocean.
The beach here is beautiful and easily accessible for long walks along the surf.
This resort is beautiful, peaceful and will provide the level of attentiveness you want, whether it be the occasional check to see if your happy or full on service catering to every whim!

Room Tip: My preference is Emerald because of the ocean views
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Repetitive VIM Guest from Florida,

We are delighted to hear that you left the hotel with a great impression of the services provided, your satisfaction reflects that the commitment we have is going through a good way.

Our Aromance staff is pleased for the recognition you made of their services and job, we congratulated them during the morning breafing. Our food and beverage management has received your generous words and they have found no words enough to heartily thank you for your preference.

Thank you for describing our hotel as a romantic and beautiful place to spend a wonderful vacation. We sincerely wish to have the opportunity to welcome you one more time, our Customer Care department will be pleased to make of your vacation a pleasant one.

Receive our appreciation,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This was our first all-inclusive experience; we don't usually like to be stuck in one place. But not being able to take a vacation in almost three years, we decided to splurge.

The property is beautiful and the staff was more than accommodating. Everyone we passed would say Hola or Buenos dias. Speaking to some of the staff, everyone had been there 7-8 years, so the company must treat them well because it extended to the way they treated the guests.

We booked our room through Oribitz and my spouse left the credit card we booked with back home. However, check-in took about 5 minutes and they never asked for the credit card. Next, we were on our way to our room with a very courteous bellman who made pit stops to show us around.

The meals were all excellent. You have a choice between Mexican, Italian, French, Japanese, Surf & Turf, and Indonesian. There are lunches at the pool, but it would have been really nice if there was some place you could go just to get a snack throughout the day; a quick ice cream or a hamburger or some sweets; something besides alcohol.

Our last night there was a show, a Mexican Fiesta, with dancers and a Mariachi band. The dancers changed clothes and styles to represent the different states in the country. Again, the layout of food was amazing.

We stayed at the Emerald Suites and although nice, we didn't really see the value of paying the extra money. We would probably take the next level down the next time we visit Valentin Imperial Maya...and there will be a next time.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet though we were woken up by the people above us. For the most part we did not hear the other people in the building.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank RicF964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Recent VIM Guest from Hartsdale, New York,

We sincerely appreciate the pleasure you gave us to serve you during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya; it is wonderful to hear you spent a great vacation with us and that you have enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, everyone here is pleased for having contributed to make your stay even more enjoyable.

As a committed to excellence hotel, we always congratulate our team when receiving great recognitions regarding their good job, we have shared your comments with our entire staff and management and we would like to thank you for taking the time to emphasize the things you have enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to hear you had a marvelous dinner at all our restaurants and even more for hearing you enjoyed the Mexican fiesta, we will gladly wait until your return, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews