We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
197
64
23
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
64
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main lake road noise dining room each meal snacks and drinks log cabin pecan pie life jackets packed lunch small peninsula cabins overlooking we've stayed small dock light sleeper three courses small cabin no extra charge
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We loved our comfortable little half-log cabin amidst tall trees, with its own verandah and our own canoe dock with canoe right in front.

The dining (lunch, dinner and breakfast) was superb, and the waitstaff all treated us with old-fashioned, understated Ottawa Valley courtesy and friendliness. The main lodge and lounge are in separate log buildings, with wifi service discretely hidden away in yet another, separate cabin. Hence, we spent much time reading real books, offline.

One of us enjoyed two paddles around a nearby, magical island on Lake of Two Rivers where the lodge is located - see photos.

The whole place gave both of us the feeling of being back at summer camp, but with much better food!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for saying that you were treated with "understated courtesy and friendliness" ... that's how our staff all are!
You know the average person has worked here for 15-20 years ... with two over 35 years!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

My husband brought me here 5 years ago for my birthday. Asked if I could choose any place in the world for this birthday.....I chose Killarney Lodge in wonderful Algonquin Provincial Park. Meals are included in the price and are fabulous. Several choices for each meal and the menu changes daily.

Staff are very warm and welcoming: after 3 days, you feel like friends. They will go out of their way to accommodate you and make you comfortable.

The cabins are all right on the lake with a porch, and your own canoe. The cabins are comfortable, homey and separated by trees and shrubbery from each other lending a sense of privacy.

There are great hiking trails and numerous lakes nearby; or you can just relax at your cabin and enjoy the scenery.

In the dark, quiet nights (no TV, radio....no noise!), you can hear the loons calling. Really, heaven!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

"after 3 days, you feel like friends" ... what a lovely way to put it! But it's true ... all of us at the Lodge end up feeling that way about our guests too. That's why we all like working here so much :) :)
Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Good communication and responses via email prior to booking. Initially reserved a duplex with a request to upgrade to the msin lske if possible, we were delighted when we arrived and had been allocated our request, even better was the complimentary upgrade to twin bedrooms as this gave much more space... thank you.
Unfortunately and no fault of the owners there was a lot of road noise due to contruction of road improvements, when discussed this the staff they offered to move us into the duplex at a quieter part of the lake. We decided to stay in the larger cabins for more privacy but go out during the day.
Meals are very nice and certainly large, if travelling from the u.k. they are not what we describe as fine dining more homely and wholesome.
I felt that security of personal belongings to be an issues there are no safe lockers and only basic style entrance door locks. Whilst I am sure nobody has isues with person security the past does not reflect the future and this could be an area to be considered needing review.
Overall a pleasant break. I personally would prefer not to have tipping discussed during check in.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for complimenting us on our pre-booking communication. We do pride ourselves on trying to respond promptly and completely :)

While we appreciate your comments about security of personal belongings, we sincerely believe that it is a non issue. In the 34 years that I have been here we have NEVER had an incident of a guest's property going missing. In fact we leave many of our own buildings unlocked 24/7 ... and numerous guests never bother locking their cabins either ;)

Finally, the reason we briefly mention at check-in how staff gratuities work at the Lodge (a pooling system) is so that guests do NOT worry about leaving tips at meals nor in their cabins. Most guests seem to appreciate being informed of this on arrival.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Well kept and clean cabin facing the lake with a comfortable bed. We had our own small dock and canoe. The food was excellent! Everything is delicious and the desserts were outstanding - everything from the cookies in the takeout lunch to the outstanding pecan pie. It was hard to select from the options as they all were very good. Recommend this location for a relaxing nature getaway. It seems pricey but there are no added fees once you pay the rate - all high quality meals, snacks and amenities are included.

Room tip: Book early and get a cabin on the shore away from Highway 60.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinesH7910RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks for pointing out that, while seeming pricey, there are "no added fees" ... that the one rate covers everything.
Sometimes we find that people forget this when comparing our rates to other options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had a fabulous experience at the Killarney Lodge in Ontario's Algonquin Park. In some ways you are going back to a simpler and much less stressful past. Not to mention a well-fed, unpretentious, comfortable past. Killarney Lodge is an extended cluster of cabins perched on the edge of a lake, centring on a restaurant that serves high-quality meals of a fairly traditional kind. We just wanted to relax, which was easy, amble around, watch the canoeists, count the ducks, avoid TV. All these things are possible. NO TV in the rooms, one small post for internet, no complications. Highly recommended. One extra point -- you can smoke OUTSIDE, not inside.

Room tip: Dog fanciers have their own sector, closer to the highway. locating relatively close to the office/restaurant.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We loved your use of the word "unpretentious" to describe the Lodge. We like to think that's what we are.
Thank you for all your kind comments and for recommending us highly :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews