We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
195
64
23
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
64
23
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main lake road noise each meal dining room log cabin snacks and drinks pecan pie life jackets the cottages huge portions packed lunch small dock light sleeper three courses small peninsula no extra charge bring your own
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Well kept and clean cabin facing the lake with a comfortable bed. We had our own small dock and canoe. The food was excellent! Everything is delicious and the desserts were outstanding - everything from the cookies in the takeout lunch to the outstanding pecan pie. It was hard to select from the options as they all were very good. Recommend this location for a relaxing nature getaway. It seems pricey but there are no added fees once you pay the rate - all high quality meals, snacks and amenities are included.

Room Tip: Book early and get a cabin on the shore away from Highway 60.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinesH7910RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks for pointing out that, while seeming pricey, there are "no added fees" ... that the one rate covers everything.
Sometimes we find that people forget this when comparing our rates to other options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had a fabulous experience at the Killarney Lodge in Ontario's Algonquin Park. In some ways you are going back to a simpler and much less stressful past. Not to mention a well-fed, unpretentious, comfortable past. Killarney Lodge is an extended cluster of cabins perched on the edge of a lake, centring on a restaurant that serves high-quality meals of a fairly traditional kind. We just wanted to relax, which was easy, amble around, watch the canoeists, count the ducks, avoid TV. All these things are possible. NO TV in the rooms, one small post for internet, no complications. Highly recommended. One extra point -- you can smoke OUTSIDE, not inside.

Room Tip: Dog fanciers have their own sector, closer to the highway. locating relatively close to the office/restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We loved your use of the word "unpretentious" to describe the Lodge. We like to think that's what we are.
Thank you for all your kind comments and for recommending us highly :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Just returned from 3 nights at Killarney Lodge. Accomodation: semi-detached log cabin, spotless inside, no musty smell, great bed and bedding. Large bathroom but narrow tub. Dining room was lovely, as pictured. Food was good quality, well prepared and wait staff were very professional and pleasant. Canoe at your door is wonderful, beach is nice for swimming, bluejays and chipmunks don't hesitate to come close to get peanuts you can leave out for them. We used our own data plan and had excellent wifi and cell coverage. Guests were friendly and quiet. Be prepared for road noise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Wow ... thanks for your such complimentary comments about our accommodation. "Spotless" ... what more could we ask for! We have a fabulous housekeeping team. The core have been here for 25+ years!

By the way the Duplex unit you were in is the only cabin on the property with "narrow" tubs. (actually, they are narrow but extra deep)

Thanks for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This is one of our favourite places to stay. As for accomodations, the cabins are charming, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were served three delicious, well prepared meals a day in the cozy pine panelled dining room. The lodge's staff attended to our every need and request cheerfully and promptly. As guests of Killarney Lodge all the facilities of the park were available to us durigng our stay...trails, museums, ranger talks etc. We've stayed at Killarney Lodge many times and have always enjoyed our stay. We love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmansell2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

... and we love you! You are two of our most favourite guests :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at Killarney Lodge and had a lovely time. The cabins, although rustic, are clean and comfortable, and we loved our little veranda, where we could chill and have some afternoon drinks on whilst having a stunning view of the lake. It's so lovely to have your own private canoe, which we had great fun using every to paddle and explore around the lake. The food is 100% the best thing about Killarney. They have a set menu of dishes, but these change every day and the menu has a great range of amazing tasting food. The portions are very generous and the servers are lovely. Whilst it is expensive to stay here, I think it's important to note that all your meals (including 3-course meals), packed lunches, snacks and drinks are included.The free, constantly available snacks and drinks (including things like San Pelligrino and doritos) are very generous and it was so nice not to be constantly signing checks and doing tips after every meal. Personally, I really liked this system and thought it fair.

Previous reviews have mentioned the road noise, and I've noticed that there is fierce debate from the owner over it so here I go! This is not a criticism, but merely a fact. Killarney Lodge is next to the main road, and as a result, you can hear road noise somewhat consistently day and night, which spoils the tranquility of the place. I wouldn't say the traffic noise bothered me that much during the day or trying to sleep. It's just a shame that a place in the middle of a national park has to listen to the "vrroom" of traffic when you're trying to enjoy some peace and quiet. There's obviously nothing Killarney Lodge can do about the traffic noise nor is it their fault, but people are entitled to know. Also, the traffic noise can't be 100% blamed on the temporary highway repaving going on as that was a couple of miles down the road from the lodge when we were staying there and 98% of all the traffic going by the lodge was 'normal' traffic (aka not construction vehicles!). :)
My next issue would be with the wifi. Now I completely understand and respect what the owner is trying to achieve, that is "an escape from all things digital". I even agree that it is a good idea to have the wifi in just one area of the lodge so that if you need wifi, you can go to the lounge and get it. However, for the entire 4 days, we were there, the wifi did not work at all. Every day there was a different excuse as for why it wasn't working, such as too many people on it (when nobody was in the wifi room!) or the weather (even though the campsite down the road had wifi!). I'm afraid it's just not okay to have no working internet connection in this day and age, especially since this is the only wifi in the entire lodge! We understood that the wifi would be limited, but we didn't realize we would be completely cut off from emails and the internet! Despite this, Killarney Lodge is a truly lovely and charming place to stay. I echo all the comments of other reviews about the incredible food, friendly and helpful staff, and the beautiful setting. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We're delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time staying with us and that you "strongly recommend" the Lodge :) And thank you for saying that our food is "100% the best thing about Killarney." We've got some great cooks and bakers ... half of whom have worked here for 30+ years!

As for wifi we completely agree that guests do need access to it. Unfortunately you happened to be here just as, we later discovered, our wifi routers had stopped working properly. Happily for incoming guests the problem was rectified shortly after you left. Guests can once again count on reliable wifi connections :)

Finally, with respect to the road, thank you for saying that any traffic noise didn't bother you that much. We do need though to disagree: there definitely has been an increase in traffic, especially in the morning, due to the roadwork going on even if it is "down the road". Just ask any of our staff who drive in from Whitney early every morning. Thankfully this will all be completed this fall :)

Thank you again for providing such a comprehensive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews