We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Views”
Review of Killarney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killarney Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Good communication and responses via email prior to booking. Initially reserved a duplex with a request to upgrade to the msin lske if possible, we were delighted when we arrived and had been allocated our request, even better was the complimentary upgrade to twin bedrooms as this gave much more space... thank you.
Unfortunately and no fault of the owners there was a lot of road noise due to contruction of road improvements, when discussed this the staff they offered to move us into the duplex at a quieter part of the lake. We decided to stay in the larger cabins for more privacy but go out during the day.
Meals are very nice and certainly large, if travelling from the u.k. they are not what we describe as fine dining more homely and wholesome.
I felt that security of personal belongings to be an issues there are no safe lockers and only basic style entrance door locks. Whilst I am sure nobody has isues with person security the past does not reflect the future and this could be an area to be considered needing review.
Overall a pleasant break. I personally would prefer not to have tipping discussed during check in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for complimenting us on our pre-booking communication. We do pride ourselves on trying to respond promptly and completely :)

While we appreciate your comments about security of personal belongings, we sincerely believe that it is a non issue. In the 34 years that I have been here we have NEVER had an incident of a guest's property going missing. In fact we leave many of our own buildings unlocked 24/7 ... and numerous guests never bother locking their cabins either ;)

Finally, the reason we briefly mention at check-in how staff gratuities work at the Lodge (a pooling system) is so that guests do NOT worry about leaving tips at meals nor in their cabins. Most guests seem to appreciate being informed of this on arrival.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Well kept and clean cabin facing the lake with a comfortable bed. We had our own small dock and canoe. The food was excellent! Everything is delicious and the desserts were outstanding - everything from the cookies in the takeout lunch to the outstanding pecan pie. It was hard to select from the options as they all were very good. Recommend this location for a relaxing nature getaway. It seems pricey but there are no added fees once you pay the rate - all high quality meals, snacks and amenities are included.

Room Tip: Book early and get a cabin on the shore away from Highway 60.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinesH7910RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks for pointing out that, while seeming pricey, there are "no added fees" ... that the one rate covers everything.
Sometimes we find that people forget this when comparing our rates to other options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had a fabulous experience at the Killarney Lodge in Ontario's Algonquin Park. In some ways you are going back to a simpler and much less stressful past. Not to mention a well-fed, unpretentious, comfortable past. Killarney Lodge is an extended cluster of cabins perched on the edge of a lake, centring on a restaurant that serves high-quality meals of a fairly traditional kind. We just wanted to relax, which was easy, amble around, watch the canoeists, count the ducks, avoid TV. All these things are possible. NO TV in the rooms, one small post for internet, no complications. Highly recommended. One extra point -- you can smoke OUTSIDE, not inside.

Room Tip: Dog fanciers have their own sector, closer to the highway. locating relatively close to the office/r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppy-Eric, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We loved your use of the word "unpretentious" to describe the Lodge. We like to think that's what we are.
Thank you for all your kind comments and for recommending us highly :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Just returned from 3 nights at Killarney Lodge. Accomodation: semi-detached log cabin, spotless inside, no musty smell, great bed and bedding. Large bathroom but narrow tub. Dining room was lovely, as pictured. Food was good quality, well prepared and wait staff were very professional and pleasant. Canoe at your door is wonderful, beach is nice for swimming, bluejays and chipmunks don't hesitate to come close to get peanuts you can leave out for them. We used our own data plan and had excellent wifi and cell coverage. Guests were friendly and quiet. Be prepared for road noise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Wow ... thanks for your such complimentary comments about our accommodation. "Spotless" ... what more could we ask for! We have a fabulous housekeeping team. The core have been here for 25+ years!

By the way the Duplex unit you were in is the only cabin on the property with "narrow" tubs. (actually, they are narrow but extra deep)

Thanks for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This is one of our favourite places to stay. As for accomodations, the cabins are charming, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were served three delicious, well prepared meals a day in the cozy pine panelled dining room. The lodge's staff attended to our every need and request cheerfully and promptly. As guests of Killarney Lodge all the facilities of the park were available to us durigng our stay...trails, museums, ranger talks etc. We've stayed at Killarney Lodge many times and have always enjoyed our stay. We love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmansell2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

... and we love you! You are two of our most favourite guests :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
50.3 km away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
112 reviews
16.2 km away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
32.2 km away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Address: 33 Highway 60 Km | Lake of Two Rivers, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: €450 - €921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric & Poppy and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing