We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home cooked”

Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Greenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went to Blenkinsopp castle after hearing some good reviews.... and we weren't dissapointed.
All the food was delicious, would defiantly recommend the homemade tomato soup , prawn cocktail which was presented so nice on the plate and also the Garlic mushrooms.
The lady on the bar would keep popping across to our table to see if we needed more drinks which was good.
The place was very nicely decorated with some nice touches here and there, will defiantly be returning for another meal soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahwalt1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope you will call again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Here at the moment with a family party of 12, table booked for 1.15pm now 2.50 and food only just arrived and some orders still wrong! Lovely place but rubbish service. They should not have taken our booking if they could not accommodate us. To make it worse one of our party has to work this afternoon and will have to leave before finishing dinner at this rate! Food was good when we eventually got it.

Thank chriskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Some of your party were late in arriving. We had left space, but by the time we were able to take your orders we were serving later diners who had also reserved but had managed to arrive promptly.

By 2.50 pm you had already had starters. We were not made aware of any mistakes in the order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

On the way home from visiting my daughter in Cumbria my husband and I thought we would try blenkinsopp castle for a bit to eat.
It's had a lovely make over, beautiful furnishings. But the menu was less desirable. I was very disappointed finding they don't serve chicken. The chips tasting of fish, asking for a well done stake, it to bleed when I cut into it, being offered a stake knife and still waiting for this to appear. Asking for a real ale to be served a pint of lager . The staff was very polite but not very helpful.

Thank BeverlyBell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We generally do have a chicken dish on our menu, unfortunately on this particular evening we had sold out. As for the chips tasting of fish, we were at a loss as to why you thought this. Our home cut chips are fried in separate oil to the fish. We did try a sample following your complaint and did not agree with you. Nevertheless as a gesture to you, we adjusted your bill, which you accepted. So for you then to publish on Trip Advisor is dissapointing.

You did not mention the steak being undercooked. I apologise for you not receiving the steak knife or correct beer, this was an unfortunate lapse in service.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Always been Cod and Chips man today had the loveliest Haddock and fresh chips and will be back again for the same. Highly recommend the haddock and chips with mushy peas and home-made tartar sauce.

Dickii 15-August 2018

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dickii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you very much. I agree, the haddock and chips are quite something.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This place has it all. A wonderful welcome, beautiful rooms, beautiful food and a wonderful location.
We could not have been made more welcome throughout, were given the most beautiful food and slept in a perfectly modern room- perfect.

Thank dcolenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing