We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$201
eDreamsUS$161
Agoda.comUS$161
TripadvisorUS$161
Destinia.com
Trip.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
274
44
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
44
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel drawing room edward lear sri lanka small gym tuk tuk crab stilt fishermen overlooking the sea relaxing stay galle fort poem suite artwork unawatuna hoppers colombo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2022 via mobile

So we stayed here in February after some research online it was between here and KK beach. We were satisfied with the rooms they are spacious and well designed. If you can go with the view with balcony it was a really nice touch. We menu is simple but the staff and very attentive and we requested bespoke meals such as curries crab etc they made it happen. The chef and the pool/bar staff are very experienced. The location is good and there is always tuk tuks outside and there is a great Persian grill restaurant nearby you much try. The pool is also great. The only feedback I have is that the music was good only when the Dj was there otherwise there was not much vibe at the pool in terms of music etc. we met the owner who was very nice and attentive and interested in our experience. Would return again keep it up guys.

Room tip: We went with kids and was perfect Try the curried crab
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank yasinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights at the Owl and the Pussycat after reading online that it was an amazing hotel with great food.

The location is pretty good, right on the beach about 20 minute drive to Galle Fort - but because there is so much greenery in front of the property you can’t really see the ocean from the pool area etc (though you can from first floor rooms)

We booked the half board package and thought the food was pretty average - we spent 2 weeks in Sri Lanka and though it was at the top end price-wise it certainly wasn’t in terms of taste and quality. The food isn’t bad, it’s just not particularly creative or especially tasty.

The amenities were fine, but given the premium price left a lot to be desired. For example having generic non branded shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the shower that make you feel as if you’re in a public pool. Similarly the bedding smelt a little damp, like it had been in the cupboard for too long. Such a shame as the linens were really beautiful

Whilst we were in Sri Lanka there were power cuts across the whole country but this was the only hotel we stayed at that did not use their generator, meaning we lost power for about 8 hours a day. I know it’s been difficult to find diesel for the generators and it’s not ideal to be using them in general - but again, we stayed in much cheaper places that managed to find solutions to these challenges.

On the plus sides: The pool and area surrounding it are very lovely and it’s nice to be by the ocean. The bar/restaurant staff were lovely and friendly and made a mean cocktail

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 642abigails
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 March 2022

We stayed for six nights on DB&B and were looked after throughout. The hotel design is very original, the pool was nice and bar & restaurant had a lovely ambience. We stayed in Suite Melodies which was a good size room with a sea view balcony. The staff were very helpful, food tasty and good hotel amenities/facilities. Location was great, right next to a beach which you can walk along to other quiet and beautiful beaches near by. Unawatuna is less than 10 minutes by Tuk Tuk or 30 minute walk, most of which can be done via beach. We would definitely stay again if we went back to that area. Thanks to the lovely staff that looked after us.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FionaC1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 February 2022

We stayed at O&P for three nights in February. It's a lovely hotel, very clean and thoughtfully furnished and designed, with a pleasant pool and outside eating area. The room, bathroom and balcony were spacious and the interiors and artwork were lovely. There are some good facilities throughout the hotel, including a library / reading room with tons of books to choose from, a small gym which is clean and well equipped, a small balcony area overlooking the sea where we saw yoga classes in the morning, and an outside massage treatment area next to the ocean. The staff are also wonderful and are eager to help - there is also a 'turn down' service where it appeared every time we left our room someone came in and tidied up before we got back!

Unfortunately there were some drawbacks to the hotel however. The first is that the hotel grounds are small enough that if there is a family with children staying on site, this will disrupt your breakfast / day / evening if you are after a relaxing retreat. There is no secluded section or private part where you can move away from the noise or general activity. The second is that the bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever stayed in at a hotel - not only could you feel the wires / springs in the mattresses, but the double was two beds pushed together. This meant that if we wanted to sleep next to each other, one of us had to sleep on a very clear and uncomfortable gap between the beds. If this was a honeymoon stay, I would be very disappointed. The third drawback is the food quality and selection - breakfast had the least variety that we had across our entire 2-week trip in Sri Lanka, and the restaurant menu was limited and not particularly enjoyable. After eating lunch and dinner here on our first day, we opted to eat outside of the hotel for every meal after.

A few quick notes which aren't necessarily drawbacks but things to note - the sea is quite literally on your doorstep, but there is no direct beach access, you have to go via a side alley next to reception and make sure the gate is unlocked. Although not ideal, it's definitely worth doing, as the beach walk to Dalawella beach is beautiful and you can spot many sea turtles (you will have to walk along the road for a bit where the beach stops but can re-access via Wijaya restaurant and carry on walking). Also, a note for light sleepers, at night time the sea is loud, so bring earplugs!

Room tip: A room with a balcony and sun loungers was helpful for privacy and quiet when there were families in the main area.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2022 via mobile

We returned this year after several Covid cancellations.
The set up was perfect for our family staying in a two bedroom suite.
The position is excellent on the edge of the ocean.
The service was as ever and Sanjit and his colleagues were particularly helpful in the restaurant with the grandchildren.
Food was excellent and off menu meals catered for without issue given a little notice.
Good location for visiting Galle fort etc by tuc-tuc.
Will come again

Room tip: Ground floor rooms great for kids
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IanFarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews