We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$151
Agoda.comUS$151
eDreamsUS$151
TripadvisorUS$151
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
274
43
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
43
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel drawing room edward lear sri lanka small gym crab stilt fishermen overlooking the sea relaxing stay galle fort poem suite artwork unawatuna hoppers colombo beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2021

Spent two nights, The whole place resounds with an 'otherworldly' impress. For an artist or creator of some sort, this was good- and away from the crass bustle of Unawatuna. It is quiet with a decent pool. The deck looks over stilt- fishermen, typical of the south, whose skill in fishing in shallow waters in the ocean, which is a treat to observe. My room looked over into the ocean, and was engagingly named "Honey Pot" after the Edward Lear poem that inspired the name for the Hotel. "The Drawing Room" is an amazing space, with a complete artistic ambience, a notable collection of books ranging from history, to film, archaeology, philosophy, Lankan culture, fashion, to literary works of stature. Shehani and her team offer dignified, unobtrusive hospitality that lifts the spirits. Food was value for money, and tastily prepared with care; featured international cuisine as well as Lankan. Not a cheap place- it is in the category of a boutique hotel with just 11 rooms for guests. All air-conditioned.

Room tip: Most rooms look out over the pool area and on to the Indian Ocean beyond.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank arundb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reita Gadkari, Owner at Owl and the Pussycat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Hi Arun
Thanks for the wonderful review. We treasure our books and are constantly in search of new additions. Once covid gets over we plan to have regular book readings and talks with professionals in their fields and offer an opportunity to interact with specialists to create a one on one unique experience with historians, doctors, scientists, wellness specialists and people who can share their knowledge over dinner and a glass of wine.
will look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Reita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2020

A very beautiful hotel, nicely furnished and with big and comfortable rooms.
The poetical concept is quite original and adds a special touch to the place.
Food and the cocktails are excellent.
The bar has a lovely piraty-atmosphere, with the Indian ocean just below...
A very nice experience, we all loved it !!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at OTP for three nights and very much enjoyed the relaxed and attentive service. The views from the terrace are unrivalled and listening to the waves from the gardens never got old. The food at lunch and dinner was good.

The service was fantastic - in particular Chamika (5* service and his cocktails were something special) and Samantha (who was also really helpful and lovely).

The rooms were beautifully designed and clean.

We would definitely recommend to those looking for a chilled but nice experience. Galle is also a short (15-20 mins) ride away.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexsC3155FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gm Nayanta, General Manager at Owl and the Pussycat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Dear Alexs,

We value your stay at the Owl and the Pussycat Hotel and we appreciate with thanks your wonderful review.

Yes, as rightly mentioned by you, 13 out of our 17 well appointed suites and rooms have an amazing view of the vast expanse of the Indian Ocean.

Samantha and Chamika are two fine young gentlemen who are an asset to my team and thank you for recognizing their hospitality.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food and your overall stay at the OTP. It will be our honour and pleasure to welcome you again.

Wishing you all the very best and success,

Sincerely,

Nayanta Pandita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

I cannot even start describing how great my weekend at the OTP hotel was. The staff is simply great, always ready to assist you with a smile. The food is incredible and eveything is thought in detail.

When i have arrived i have been upgraded to a suite, i had the best time and i felt cuddled and taken care.

Definitely going back soon for another weekend, i am also driving from Colombo just for their restaurant. The food is really impressive.

Kudos to the owner and to the staff, people really make the difference.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SabrinaGmezzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gm Nayanta, General Manager at Owl and the Pussycat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Dear Sabrina,

It was indeed a pleasure to have staying at the Owl and the Pussycat Hotel.

We take great pleasure in exceeding our customer expectations and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the upgrade to a suite.

Yes, our cuisine is highly appreciated by many of our discerning guests and we look forward to many repeated visits from you.

Wishing you all the very best,

Sincerely

Nayanta Pandita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

With Sri Lanka lockdown looming, we went to OTP for a treat. What a treat! All clean and well scrubbed, efficient service, delicious fresh mixed seafood, good wine list, pretty busy but room enough to feel relaxed. And no coronavirus blues at all. It was almost as if the management had decided to double up on everything - laughter, bright colours, sea breeze - so that we could all enjoy things while they last. Thanks for a great evening!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gm Nayanta, General Manager at Owl and the Pussycat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Dear Rupert B,

Thank you for your most positive comments on the Owl and the Pussycat Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel - especially the team. Yes these fine young ladies and gentlemen working for the hotel has earned many appreciative comments regularly from our valued guests.

Thank you for visiting us and sharing your wonderful experience. We value it immensely.

Wishing you all the very best,

Sincerely

Nayanta Pandita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews