We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse & Jockey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Kiwigirl839
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were blown-away at the quality of this hotel.

We only intended this as a stop-over point on our way through Ireland on a 10 day driving tour. Upon entering our room for the night we wished we had booked in longer.

Stunning accommodations, very comfortable and well-appointed beds. Friendly staff and helpful staff. When I had trouble with the wi-fi they very graciously offered me internet cables and assistance. Breakfast was fantastic, well-made and very generous.

We did have a chance to use the leisure facilities before leaving and they are also stunning.

This hotel is a jewel hidden in the Irish countryside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review which I have passed on to all our staff, I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    180
    67
    49
    27
See reviews for
140
193
21
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I enjoyed staying here. The food was good and the swimming pool etc are excellent. The rooms where really nice and comfortable. I know it might sound crazy but a nice little touch was the free large bottles of water you got to the room everyday. Only one thing i was not mad on was the bar. This is personal preference and i am not sure if it was the time of the year when we went but it was very quite. We headed down to Cashel and the hotel organized a taxi for us, which was not too expensive. The town itself was great. Overall I would definitely come back, especially in the summer time !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkenna999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Hotel is lovely. Service excellent. Rooms huge with big comfy beds, large bathroom with roll top bath. Food excellent great choice and good value for money. Spa is lovely, hairdresser on site. Elmis products in rooms lovely treat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouchRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Had a meal in the cozy bar/restaurant and it was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was well presented and portions were generous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I spent the afternoon at the spa with friends thanks to a present of a gift voucher and would highly recommend a visit! The package included a facial, massage and afternoon tea - so both body and spirit catered for. The area is condusive to relaxation and the staff are very pleasant, professional and excellent at ensuring that you leave the outside world behind! Afternoon tea was served in the cafe area of the main hotel and was served "old-style" on linen cloth covered tables with cake plates (4 varieties of fingers sandwiches, scones and 4 varities of cake - not so good for the New Year diet). What a lovely way to spend an afternoon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
5.6 km away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
20.0 km away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
34.0 km away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
34.4 km away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 5 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
39.0 km away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Jockey Hotel

Property: Horse & Jockey Hotel
Address: Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably located beside the M8 Motorway at Junction 6 approximately 1 1/4 hours from all main cities. Our facilities include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates. Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. The Spa is a haven of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing