We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Food I've Ever Eaten”

The Red Door Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Fahan
Price range: US$21 - US$53
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renowned for relaxed dining, luxury accommodation and breathtaking views, The Red Door Country House is nestled on a 4 acre site overlooking Lough Swilly in Fahan, Buncrana,Co Donegal. We have won numerous awards for best wedding venue. Our chefs offer a fantastic menu specialising with Steak, Seafood, Poultry. We offer a vegan menu on request and also cater with a kids menu for younger diners. Sunday lunch is extremely popular and books up well in advance. Serving a selection of traditional Sunday fayre with choices of 2 or 3 courses from our set menu. Afternoon Tea is served on Saturday's by prebooking only and has an option of Gluten free on request. Facilities are wheelchair friendly and we also offer private dining for those special occasions. The Country House has helicopter access for those of you that may want to arrive in style for that special occasion. Our bar area offers drinks, cocktails and hot beverages in relaxed comfy seating by the open fire's for you to enjoy!
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We were here for a wedding reception last week and I have to say it was the best food I have ever eaten at a wedding. We had scallops to start with chorzio and a cauliflower puree, followed by pea and bacon soup, then a raspberry sorbet. After that was a steak with veg and chips which was cooked to perfection and it was all topped off by a trio of desserts, my favourite being the brandy snap basket with ice cream. The staff were all charming and very attentive. Next time we are in Northern Ireland where family live we will definately make the journey to visit this wonderful hotel again. Trust me when I say you won't be dissapointed.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PhilTrenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Dear Phil,

We are so pleased to read this wonderful review from a wedding guest. We strive to create a memorable day for couples and their nearest and dearest so it's great to know we succeeded! Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the North West!

Kind regards,
The Red Door team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We recently had our Wedding Reception at The Red Door. This was our first wedding venue we viewed, after being showed around by the lovely Leanne, we knew we didn't have to look any further. Leanne was so helpful and welcoming. Since planning our wedding away from home we knew this would be a daunting task and would face some difficulties, but definitely not with the Venue, Leanne and Linda answered my constant emails so promptly and full of information always putting my mind at ease. It made planning our wedding so much easier, they were absolutely fantastic, thanks girls.
Francis is an absolute star on the day, she just made everything run so smoothly, nothing was ever too much for her.
I can't recommend The Red Door enough for their food, it truly was amazing, 3 months later we still have guests repeatedly telling us how much they enjoyed their dinner.
The Red Door has stunning views for photos, unfortunately good old irish weather wasn't on our side that day which meant we had to resort inside, our professional photos from inside are beautiful, the decor is gorgeous in the background, so don't worry if it rains on your big day, your photos of inside will still be amazing (I have attached a few courtesy of Michael J Love Photography)
I would high recommend The Red Door to anyone getting married, they are very accommodating, very professional and an absolute joy to organise your wedding along side.
The Venue, the staff, the food, the views are all exceptional, what more could you want?!?
Thank you to all who made our day so special.

Date of visit: December 2015
2  Thank Claireborland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Dear Claire and Ryan,

We could not have asked for a more amazing wedding review - thank you so much. It was our pleasure from start to finish. You are such a lovely couple and we wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Best wishes,
Leanne, Frances, Linda and all The Red Door team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Went here on a few occasions over the years, it's situated in the village of Fahan near Buncrana, it overlooks Lough Swilly and Fahan Marina. The food and service is top quality.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Dined at the Red Door Saturday night and yet again we had a brilliant night. From you walk through the door to be met by a lovely warm greeting and big smile to the roaring warm fire inside the bar sure what could be better. The bar staff are so so nice and keep you entertained while waiting for dinner. Dinner was superb our servers were lovely and couldn't do enough for us when we were there. We started off with squid and goats cheese 10 out of 10 for both dishes, I'd give 11 out of 10 for the goats cheese - divine. My husband had his usual fillet steak - he rates it as the best fillet he has EVER had and its consistently good. I had the duck again always good and the cooked perfectly to my liking, Pudding again I had the panna cotta - its huge lol Husband had a toffee and ginger pudding again lovely. Would love to see a chocolate pudding on the menu at some stage or even a nice Creme Brulee. This restaurant is just the best you won't get better in Donegal you really won't believe me we have tried most of the restaurants in Donegal and this will always be our favourite. Its not just the food its the people who work there and make it so warm and inviting. My husband maintains if they got Corrs on draught in the bar he would go and live there lol. Looking forward to our next trip.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daisy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Daisy J,

Thank you very much for another wonderful review. We see that you have visited many great restaurants and we are delighted to receive such glowing praise from you. Your kind words about our team and food are much appreciated. We did have a chocolate fondant on our dessert menu in the Winter which you may have missed but we have an exciting new evening dinner menu launching on 19th March so check it out on our website (http://thereddoor.ie/dining.php) and we hope you can visit us again soon to sample some new dishes.

Best wishes,
The Red Door team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Treated my wife to a birthday meal. Throughly enjoyed. Great food. Friendly staff. Recommend everyone to try. Beautiful location next to the water.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rongie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear rongie007,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words, recommendation and appreciation of our food, service and setting.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Red Door Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Door Country House also viewed

Fahan, County Donegal
Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to The Red Door Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.