We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We stayed in the first floor 2-bed apartment 'Louisa' in Thalassa House at the end of the season in late October. This seems to us like one of the best places to stay in Plakias, particularly if you are wanting to take it easy lazing around your apartment and enjoying the view. It is much more spacious than most local apartments, with a generous-sized balcony/terrace with sunbeds and table and chairs and panoramic views of the beautiful coastline. There are cool stone floors throughout, views through the big windows in all three rooms and the luxury of a bath with shower over (unusual in Greece) in the nicely-decorated bathroom. It is that bit more expensive than the traditional basic apartments and rooms in the area, but we felt it was worth paying the extra for the extra space and light and the amazing view.

The location is perfect for an easy-going beach holiday. There is immediate access to the beach below, and it's a five minute walk to restaurants and supermarkets in Plakias but outside the town so quite peaceful. It is set above the relatively quiet road to Souda beach - a good-sized pretty pebble beach with two tavernas - about half an hour's walk away. We didn't hire a car and managed fine without, going to several nice local beaches and the monastery either walking or taking the little Preveli bus (which only runs in season and stopped at the end of October).

We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family-bracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed in the Ioanna Penthouse apartment for 5 nights in May 2016. The location is excellent, just a five minute walk to restaurants and the harbour, on the seafront with fabulous views from both balconies. Very quiet and peaceful.
The apartment was well equipped, with excellent air conditioning and wifi and insect screens on all windows.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CMA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Just off a small road outside the village on high with tremendos views of the sea and mountains. Lovely hotel, everything working and clean. Friendly staff and amazing breakfast on an open terrasses. Want to go back.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have been in Thalassa House four times. A great location located directly at the sea with abeautiful terrace view. German and english speaking management. Very nice people, the apartments as well as the Hotel Horizon are really recommendable. A pool is nissing but no problem because of the sea just in front of the location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChJoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

we were in Thalassa house at the beginning of Sep. The room itself is really nice with a nice sea view. When we arrived, at noon, our room was not ready yet as the previous couple who had our room was still at the reception desk to pay the room and leave. We noticed that they were paying 20 euro less than us so we asked the owner why were we charged that much of a difference and she said that because we booked thru a website, we could not get a deal as if we were booking directly with them. The website is charging them a fee and this is why we had to pay 65 instead of 45. If only we did not see that but because it was done in front of us, it was hard to ignore and even if we tried to get the price reduced a little, she was NOT cooperative at all and also, said that we were stressfull about this and we should stop talking about it. Her husband called us crazy people, which this NEVER HAPPENED to us EVER in any place we have been and we both travel a lot.
The morning after, when we went to the reception to pay for the room, we told the owner that we noticed that there was no TV in the room but we saw a whole in the wall (we did not want him to think that we took it away :o) ). According to the website we booked thru, it should have had a TV. Not that it made a difference to us but we made a simple comment about it and the owner just said that he took it away himself from the room (that's it). It is sad to say but we did not feel welcome at this specific place compare to other places we went, while in Crete. (husband and wife)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews