We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
41
53
26
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
53
26
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic room very nice hotel good size excellent location comfortable beds hotel is located quiet location the ground floor swimming pool fridge seafront crete balcony wind rethymnon ac south
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016

This is our second time at the hotel, we got a room just built wing. The room was on the ground floor, is very large and spacious, very clean, breakfast is simple but filling and good.
A few things that bothered us:
1 toilet window, does not open and you can not ventilate the room.
2. There are only two television channels.
3. The light does not turn on, just put the plastic card attached to the developer, at night you can not see anything and really not a good arrangement.
4. breakfast is at eight o'clock, I think that the meal should be ready, the omelette will be ready at eight and a half ?!, or the manager and his assistant, gave watter to the plants and not help prepare the dining room at the time.
Apart from this highly recommended hotel

Room tip: all the rooms are good
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hemi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We booked and paid for a room with sea view, did not receive a sea view. Manager would not change the rooms nor offer discount for his error. Air conditioner was broken in the room. The next day server staff in restaurant were slow setting out breakfast and as a result we did not get to eat before leaving the hotel at 9:30am.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamonplakias, Διευθυντής at Lamon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Dear Pat W,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your expreriences of your stay with us, though i was sorry to read that you were dissapointed with some aspects of the stay.
I would from my side like to confirm that both rooms that we gave you were with sea view(rooms 104 and 111) and apart from that, the one of them was fully renovated and it was for the same price as the non renovated room because you were a return guest on a regular basis.
Also, the breakfast area and the restaurant opens on 07:30am every day.
i hope we will have the chance of restoring your faith in the not too distant future.
kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Although the Lamon had tie ups with travel organisations, it was quite easy to book in independently by email.. or by telephone as some people did.

I have stayed there many times over recent years as did a number of Brits and European people I became friends with.. and enjoyed the ability to go independently. I also felt almost a member of the hotel family.
Unfortunately, as the hotel has been undergoing refurbishment it is now much more reliant on internet booking companies.. with consequently higher room charges.

I would advise all visitors, whether independent or not, to triple check room bookings, price and if breakfast is included. If all is in order, the Lamon is a great base.

The photo is very misleading.. but it offers the only pool along Plakias seafront and the open air bar is very attractive, whether you are staying there or not.

Date of stay: September 2015
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We ordered what we hoped would be a typically Cretan breakfast at Lamon Hotel, but received the our worst meal in Crete. Whilst the menu promised dakos (meze with rusk, chopped tomatoes, feta, olives), graviera cheese and freshly squeezed orange juice, what were given was very disappointing: rusk alone, processed slices of ham and cheese and some cheap cartoned juice. It was not as advertised and we would rather the staff were honest and said they did not have the items listed, as opposed to making a mockery of a Cretan dish.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Skinneres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The hotel made a mistake our reservation, so we had to spent half of our holiday in another appartment for higher price. They cannot give us the rooms we have booked, but they confirmed it.
The manager of the hotel wasn't helpful. She did not want to compensate us for the higher costs of the apartment and asked for the normal room rates. We want to discuss the situation, but she wasn't cooperative, we have to pay higher price.
Furthermore, the hotel has got a new wing, it was OK, but the old one not so good. Despite all this, the breakfast and the location were so good.
If they change their attitude, it would be a good hotel.

Room tip: The rooms of the back wing are the new ones and refurbish.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tothtimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews