We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
20
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
20
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic hotel doughnuts place to stay mountains balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

If you want to strip back all those expensive and pretentious holiday hotels and go back to a good bit of basics this is the place to stay. Food is great and nothing special but it comes with love and local produce. The view is amazing, right across plakias bay. There's no pool, just a 1 k sandy beach. Sun loungers are 2 for 5€ and don't forget the doughnut man comes round chocolate ones are to die for. If you have come for the nightlife you are in the wrong place. No noisy lorries or loud scooters here. Hotel backs onto a side of the mountain. If you like walking and trekking then this is the place. The owners can point you in the right direction. There are some great tavernas locally and the local bakery next to the supermarket is heaven. The plakias bay hotel is great value for money and we won't leave it another 15 years before we return!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank happyeater631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 3 days at the end of April 2017. Everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and they offered us a room with a beautiful view over the sea and village. I don't know how it is at summer time but in spring everything is very quiet and peaceful. Don't expect a luxurieus resort: (fortunately) the rooms are basic which gives the hotel a charming atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and everything you need is there. A nice surprise was the breakfast which was more than what I expected in a basic Greek hotel and which you can take in the garden outside. If there is something to complain it is about the WiFi which was a bit unstable but who cares on vacation?

The price was very moderate:162 Euro's for 3 nights per room.

The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but you find the beach across the street. Costs for 2 beds and an umbrella were 5 Euros but in this time of the year most chairs are for free. The village is at a nice 15 minutes walk along the sea. It has many nice restaurants where you can enjoy a lovely dinner at the seaside.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 122gerards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Plakias Bay Hotel is located at the eastern end of the beach road just a minute's walk from the best part of Plakias beach (which is also the clothes optional section). Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The owners and staff are delightful and the restaurant, open 3 nights a week when we stayed, is excellent. Highly recommended for value-for money. It is one kilometre walk to the main part of town, which is a bit tiring on a hot day.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pgarrett767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My husband and I like authentic, non resort style hotels and Plakias Bay Hotel is just that. They offer all rooms with balconies of the ocean and town, wifi and air conditioning; no TV's. We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 9! Meals are offered on the terrace with views of the beach. Clean, comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff; good breakfast buffet and delicious dinners all in a quiet, relaxing setting. Short walk to the beautiful beach, restaurants down the road or in town- at the end of the bay. Mainly Northern European and British tourists. Bathrooms are a little too small but we made do just fine.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We just drove to town with no real plans and saw the hotel shining like a beacon at the very end of the beach road. We were looking for somethung quiet but close enough to town...travelling with a two year old. They had a room for us that had a killer view of the bay and surrounding mountians. I personally liked the simplicity of the hotel, it captured the essence of crete, a simple island. Super easy to access other beaches from the hotel. Full huge breakfast included and also a restaurant serving dinner (maybe lunch too?). Nice staff and family running the place. Definitely plan on staying again.

Room tip: Face the sea!!!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank santamariasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews