We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
55
50
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
50
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boiled eggs stayed for weeks lovely hotel good size hot water nothing too much trouble star hotel fresh fruit small hotel self catering sea view air con jeannie reception rotating supermarket balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Small hotel, great breakfast, very kind people in a quiet clean hotel, we are going back there for sure, because is located at the most beautiful part of Crete.
You can swim, surf and snorkel at the beach 100 meters from the hotel. And there's a great busstation nearby to take you to the best places. Not for young people; there's nothing to do, but for the ones who need their battery refilled and enjoy nature and old sites.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagelis p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Mr Patrice
Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your fantastic feedback!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We appreciate you sharing your comments and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Vagelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

If you like the comfort of a hotel but the personal approach of a b&b this is you pick! So friendly and helpful staff, always a smile or time for small talk and help, or tips for trips and sightseeing. Breakfast is fresh and very tastful. Love the patio with all the plants, but you can sit inside as well should you wish it.
Rooms are clean with good beds. Supermarket next door, restaurants around the corner and two beaches (swim or snorkle) within a minute’s walk. Still it’s very quiet at night.

They helped us arranging a taxi for our day trip. They work with local people as much as possible, who still think service is important.

thank you for the wonderful stay!! Will let people know what a wonderfull place is Plakias, with Sofia hotel as the place to stay :)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank lny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagelis p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We appreciate you sharing your comments and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind regards,
Vagelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Staying here for 2 weeks we are still here and what can I say but it's perfect ...rooms cleaned every day with fresh bed linen ..breakfast great choice to choose from ...if I ever come back to plakias which there's a very good chance then I wouldn't hesitate to stay here .. Great hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagelis p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear David,
Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your possitive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind regards
Vagelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Only a two-star hotel ? But this two-star hotel has access to a swimming pool with sunbeds and a snack/drinks bar too, so it is somewhat special. It is family-owned and run, with the man-and-wife owners on hand to cover reception and cook breakfasts.You do not have to get up until 8 a.m. for your breakfast ; there will be omelette, fried eggs for boiled eggs, in rotation, plus all the usual continental breakfast items.You can eat either in the dining room or down a few steps in a cool central courtyard.The small balconies do not offer much privac, as they are in at least partial sight of each other ( from my balcony I could have shaken hands with the people next door! ) The location is very central to Plakias - you can be at the "port" jetty in about two minutes from the front door, and in less than five minutes you can reach the bus stop, and beyond that is the long curve of sandy beach.I found the hotel very convenient in all respects, including the convenience of a supermarket just across the road, which has a very good wine selection.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagelis p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your possitive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind regards
Vagelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Sophia remains a firm favourite in Plakias. Nicely decorated room, clean, comfortable bed, nice balcony and excellent location. Good shower and effective airconditioning ( payable locally if staying on a package holiday ). Breakfast is excellent with staff working constantly to replenish the well stocked buffet. Varied hot food (fried eggs, omlette, sausages, boiled eggs in rotation) plus lovely bread, fresh fruit, meat cheese etc. Friendly welcome and it’s nice to be remembered from previous visits. We’ll be back!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BusinessguestDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagelis p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your possitive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!!
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind regards
Vagelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews