We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$289
View deal
Expedia.comUS$296
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
42
24
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
24
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2019

I was here on business. I found the hotel totally lacking in what I call "hospitality". Virtually no one on the staff spoke English. There was no one to assist you with your luggage. As a result of the language issues, my wife was unable to gain access to the spa and no one spoke enough English to assist her to sign up for spa activities.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuitarmanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is quite new. Modern and comfy rooms. The village is small and cute. We were surprised that most of the guests were so old but that means it is really quiet and peaceful at night. No party animals ; ) and we like it like that.
Good breakfast and we had a really nice three coarse dinner. We can recommend this hotel. We had access to the pool area but we were just passing by and came in late so we didn't have time to enjoy it. But according to the pics it looks really relaxing.
Nice balconys. But I can't understand how people can smoke! Coughing and smoking old
people go to the spa and think it does wonders to their health. I'm just wondering as the smelly smoke blows to our balcony .
But other than this the hotel is worth a visit if you're going that way.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PATH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Manager at Hotel Konig Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017
Google Translation

Dear Path1976,
thank you very much for your stay in our house and for your great evaluation, the full score is always my team and me always very special. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the peace, the breakfast, the food and the balcony (except for the smoke of the neighbors).
Until next time in the Hotel König Albert.
With kind regards
Marc Cantauw / Hotel Director

Lieber Path1976,
herzlichen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Haus und für Ihre supertolle Bewertung, die volle Punktzahl freut meine Mannschaft und mich natürlich immer besonders. Es freut mich sehr, dass Ihnen die Ruhe, das Frühstück, das Essen und der Balkon (bis auf den Rauch der Nachbarn) besonders gefallen haben.
Bis zum nächsten Mal im Hotel König Albert.
Mit herzlichen Grüßen
Marc Cantauw/Hoteldirektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel if you want to visit the Albert Spa. The hotel is brand new (opened earlier in 2016) and it is very modern. The rooms are nice, there is sufficient space, the bar is good with live piano music a few days a week. The staff in general is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a direct walkway into the spa, so guests can go directly in bathing clothes and a robe (robe provided by the hotel) - very convenient.

The restaurant is also good. Breakfast buffet has many choices. There is also buffet available in the evenings but we preferred the a la carte good with was excellent.

Parking is available across the street in the spa parking garage. The hotel has special rates when staying several days but you need to let the hotel staff know before entering the parking to get these rates.

There are a few point in which the hotel can improve. The biggest downside is the check in/check out. Two desks are just not sufficient and check in personnel is very slow. It took us each time more than 30minutes. Also there was one lady that told us that we have to be out before 11am on the day of departure - we hadn't even checked in yet - this was not very welcoming. Further, the hotel provided spa slippers which are not sufficient quality to use in the spa area. As soon as it's wet you are slipping and sliding everywhere- quite dangerous actually.

Overall I seems that the personnel has some start up problems. They do not appear to be a well functioning team yet but that is understandable considering the hotel is relatively new.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WoroJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Manager at Hotel Konig Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Woro,
thank you for your stay at our hotel and your kind review. We are proud about your positive reviews and hope for excuse for the negative ones. We ordered two more desks to make a quicker checkout and think about new slippers. I hope next time you can say that your stay was excellent from the beginning to the end.
Many greetings from Bad Elster - Marc Cantauw/hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

A truly fabulous hotel, with perfect service and excellent food.
Situated....well.....in a small town very close to the Czech border..it certainly was an adventure getting there by train..
Close to a beautiful forest.
It is also adjacent to a wonderful spa and swimming pools that are free to hotel guests.
Oh..treatments there are extra.
If this hotel was not quite so, far away I would happily visit to just get away from it all.
A perfect couple of nights....

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becs512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Manager at Hotel Konig Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Becs512,
thanks a lot for your stay and your great review, we are very proud about this.
Perhaps we see you again in our hotel. Many greetings - Marc Cantauw/hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel
Good restaurant, large bar, friendly staff and good sized rooms.
I didn't get time to use the baths etc, but having stayed in 3 or 4 different hotels in the area, I have to recommend this one. It ticks all the boxes.
Great quality and superb value.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc C, Manager at Hotel Konig Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Roger,
thanks a lot for your great review and for your stay at our hotel. Perhaps next time you have the chance to use the bath. Many greetings - Marc Cantauw/hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews