We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Rabelais, chambre 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Rabelais, chambre 1
Le Rabelais, chambre 2 Le Rabelais, salle d'eau avec douche et WC
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Le Rabelais, chambre 1
Le Rabelais, chambre 2
Le Rabelais, salle d'eau avec douche et WC
Le Rabelais, séjour
Le Rabelais, cuisine
La Porte du Bois, vue des vignes environnantes
La Porte du Bois, cour intérieure
La Porte du Bois, parc
La Porte du Bois, piscine
La Porte du Bois, salle de billard
La ville de Chinon vue de la forteresse
Les caves de Chinon
Château de Chinon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ligre, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dave g
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a wonderful week here, within touching distance of the main town of Chinon. The accommodation met all of our needs and was very comfortable. Pascal and his family were first class and most welcoming and assured that all our needs were met.
This is an excellent location to explore this wonderful part of the country and we will definitely be retuning in the very near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing environment
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hi Dave, Thanks so much for your review and the present and the nice note you've left in the gite ! I appreciate a lot. It was a pleasure to welcome you in La Porte du Bois and I really hope to see you in near future. Thanks again ! Wish you all the best. Pascal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

OK so the place is amazing, clean and accommodating - great for young kids (mine are 3,9 and 12) there is a great pool for personal use, a ping pong table - bikes to (pump) and borrow.
The place is in a open complex situated in a breath taking area - we went out riding to pick berries for breakfast !
best of all the host Pascal is truly an amazing host ! putting aside the wine (and the other wine) with which we were left - he took us to the city (Chinon) and back - WOW - talk about going the extra mile :) . in short highly recommended !
p.s regards to Daniel :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and the host
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Hello David,
Thank you so much for your review. It was really a pleasure to receive you and your family at La Porte du Bois ! I'm very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that the rest of your holidays in Europe was good too. We're looking forward to seeing you again in our beautiful area !
Kind regards
Pascal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe O
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect gîte for a family holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The three gîtes at La Porte du Bois are enclosed within the courtyard of a beautifully restored staging post near Chinon. With a parking area outside the walls, the courtyard is very much as it would have been in its heyday - with mature trees shading a peaceful square. The owners - Pascal and Maï - were also there on holiday with their teenagers (of the friendly type!); Pascal and Maï are always on hand if you need anything. In our case, the wifi was playing up when we arrived and they immediately installed a booster. They really understood the importance of wifi for our (disabled) daughter.

Inside (Le Rabelais gîte): fridge-freezer, modern hob/oven with very responsive controls, great dishwasher, good quality kitchenware, very comfortable beds, good shower with lots of hot water, bedrooms up steep stairs.

Outside: table/chairs/sun-shade for eating al fresco, extensive gardens, good-sized pool (which we had to ourselves most days) with sun-loungers and inflatables, safety fence to prevent kids getting in the pool unsupervised, games room with dartboard (bring your own darts!), billard table, table-tennis table and full-sized telescope!

Locally: lots of restaurants in Chinon; boulangerie 2.5km away; canoeing in the Vienne; river swimming at Chinon, L'île Bouchard and Pouzay; Chateaux and Caves (of the wine type!) galore!

All in all, a really fab place to stay with or without kids. Pascal and Maï were so friendly - it was like being part of the family! Looking forward to another stay there next year or the year after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely pool.
Liked least: No bars or shops within walking distance.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Hello Jo, Thank you for your review ! It was a pleasure to welcome you at "La Porte du Bois" and to meet your so lovely family. It was enriching to exchange with you and Maï and I really have appreciated your company. We would be glad to welcome you again in our beautiful region. Stay in touch et encore merci !

Pascal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will29er
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a Great Location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The gite is in an impressive restored staging house with good facilities. The photos don't do it justice really. There is ample space for a family of four and it has handy covered bike storage and decent parking arrangements. The gite itself was very clean on arrival and the overall material condition is good.

It's in a great location with the town of Chinon near by and there are plenty of chateau and other historic places to visit. The local roads are good for youngish children to ride on and as always in France the drivers are far more careful when passing. The gite would also make an ideal base for an adults cycling holiday with great views a plenty of quiet roads.

The owner uses part of the building as his holiday home and is incredibly friendly and welcoming.

All in all well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you have appreciated your stay in one of our cottages. We really hope to welcome you again in our beautiful region of the Loire-Valley !
Kind regards
Pascal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodiejbn...
Etain, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La jolie bâtisse, la piscine et les propriétaires
Liked least: Les araignées un peu partout ;) mais bon avec un balai le problème se résout !
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing