We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bundelkhand Riverside
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We recently moved from London to India and have found living & Holidaying as expensive as anywhere in the world. But Madhya Pradesh still retains its charm and great value for money.
On our tour this hotel turned out to be the highlight,
The manager Mr Sood showed us around and explained how the family took care of all details while buidling the hotel. The manager also turned out to be a great nature lover - a common interest for us. The hotel has a lovely dining hall with simple but tasty Indian and barbeque, continental is just above average.
The hotel has its software right with great staff, but the hardware is missing in many places - no tvs and internet.
The staff had genuine rural Indian smiles and attention - we loved the change from the city.
Orchha monuments are stunning specially the light & sound show at night.
The temple can be a bit crowded specially during Aarti in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Bundelkhand Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at Bundelkhand for two nights with a tour group. The hotel is a recently new construction -- ca. 7-10 years old -- but they've opted to go with older accessories to give it that aged look. It worked -- partially.

Firstly, the river view from the room we stayed in was stunning! No question about that. However, the very loud air conditioning unit meant it wasn't particularly enjoyable to sit outside on the balcony or in the rather uncomfortable chairs in the inner seating air.

The biggest issue was the service. In general, the staff were not particularly friendly and tended to hover when they though they'd be tipped -- upon arrival and upon departure. Otherwise, service in the restaurant was poor compared to other hotels during the trip and on the second night, we waited for a good 20 minutes by the firepit but nobody came out to take a drinks order. We ended up having to go inside the stuffy restaurant instead of enjoying ourselves under the stars.

Several of our group ended up having heated discussions with the staff about the bills and change and in general, it was a rather unpleasant exchange. Requests for bottled water were ignored, and we were rushed out of out rooms on the final day by hovering staff -- such that we left items behind because we couldn't do a final check.

All in all, lovely location -- but the service needs to be ramped up substantially.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatjaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

It was a lovely hotel and the setting on the river is a real bonus (had a nice soak of my feet in the running water) but one staff member in particular was a bit pushy, obviously wanting tips for everything and followed us around – even waiting outside our room for us to appear – was a bit creepy really.

Pros: Quirky old former royalty house, big bedrooms and bathroom, lovely hot powerful shower, excellent food (had breakfast and dinner) in the restaurant (with wine), nice peaceful setting by the river, lots of quilts on the bed, good value for money

Cons: Loud air con unit, staff want tips even though signs everywhere saying not to tip individuals, hard bed, no wifi, no music in the restaurant (so no atmosphere), no tv

I would not stay here again, but then I would not bother with Orchha at all, it was fine but nothing compared to Khajuraho

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deltasmelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I like this place despite being a little taddy in spots, but that added to the atmosphere. The room was huge, with a sitting area, and small balcony looking out onto the river. Amenities in bathroom a bit scarce, but not important if you have your own. Lucky for us the pool was being filled so we were able to have a swim. The food in restaurant was great, there weren't many guests and we had so much attention from staff. Really enjoyed the artifacts in dining room and reception. The grounds are lovely. The medieval city of Orcha is a must on you trip to India. A quaint town with palaces and temples on the Betwa River.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in this resort for 2 days and felt that we could stay longer and feel great.
The gardens of hotel and the river running next to it make your mind stress free and fresh.
Because of its location in greens and forest one can expect some insects, but they are not a big trouble.
For my birthday they went 80 km away to fetch a nice cake.... felt great... thanks.

Will like to go there again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numa1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
2.1 km away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
659 reviews
1.5 km away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
157 reviews
0.8 km away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#7 of 9 in Orchha
4 reviews
11.3 km away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
96 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Hare Krishna
Hotel Hare Krishna
#9 of 9 in Orchha
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundelkhand Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundelkhand Riverside

Address: Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range: €39 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bundelkhand Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bundelkhand Riverside is built on 50 acres of land on the banks of the River Betwa in Orchha and the old house, which still exists, was used as a hunting lodge cum guest house. The present retreat is an addition to the old construction that dates back to 1895. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bundelkhand Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundelkhand Riverside Orchha
Bundelkhand Riverside Hotel Orchha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing