We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bob's n Barley(Dharamsala)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pink House(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Fortune Park Moksha(McLeod Ganj)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
McLeodGanj Homestay(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Amayra Inn(Dharamsala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agiletrips(Dharamsala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
21
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We were a group of 32 mostly girl students and adults that went on this trek... Salli is a picturesque pristine village, where we engaged in rope activities and got acclimatised. We began our trek to Handi on day one which was a gradual ascent and along the river with some lovely views... day 2 was our trek to Rela which was along the river and mostly on an even terrain with a gradual ascent... Rela is a beautiful camp on the river banks and overlooking a few snow capped peaks... Our trek to Kareri lake was a challenging one, a steep climb for 4 hours and on the return we were pounded by Hailstorm and we trekked the last stretch in pitch darkness aided by a few torches and crossing rivers... excellent guides and amazing experience

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank visvesh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TejbirSingh, Owner at Snow Monk Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

It was a pleasure having you at the camp with your group. We are so delighted that you enjoyed the nature and our services and everyone went back happy. Thank you for your kind words and look forward to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

The Kareri Lake Trek was our first Himalayan experience. With our experience of trekking in the Western Ghats for the last 12 years, we were confident that we could do the trek, but were concerned about stay arrangements, and whether our kids (12 and 8) would manage the temperature and altitude. The staff at base camp, camp 1 and camp 2 were generous, kind and child-friendly. The arrangements were excellent. Overall we had a great time, and we look forward to going back!

Room Tip: We are allotted tents, so best to enjoy what we get. But the tents on the lowest level, that we were allotted have the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892swapnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TejbirSingh, Owner at Snow Monk Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

We are delighted to read that your experience at Snow Monk Camp and beyond to Kareri Lake trek was great. Thank you for your kind words and we will pass on your compliments to the entire team which will surely encourage them to perform even better. We look forward to have you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Base Camp to Lake Kareri and returned over 6 days; it was a lovely experience; guides were caring and supportive; they took care of the kids - daughter 8 years old. The tents were cozy and comfortable. well-designed Toilet facilities with water were arranged at the higher camps.

Room Tip: a smaller tent is cosier - if you are a twosome
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvsgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TejbirSingh, Manager at Snow Monk Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

The trek to Kareri Lake is a beautiful walk in the pristine nature and we are so glad that your family had a great time with the Snow Monk Camp team. Thank you for your kind words and a great review. We look forward to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visited with a couple friends. Amazing atmosphere. Good vibes. Great camp experience. Awesome trekking trails. Helpful staff. Highly recommend for adventure enthusiasts. Great view of the Dhauladhar Himalayan range from every tent of the base camp.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Raghav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TejbirSingh, Owner at Snow Monk Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are excited reading your review and are delighted to read that you had a great time at the camp. Thanks for your recomendations and we look forward to have you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

This place is far off from dharmshala , its around 22 kms from shahpur .the road access by car to this place is not easy and terrain is rocky .But once you reach ,the camp is in the midst of hills and scenic . Rajendra kandpal, Santosh koushal, Anoop koushal do a wonderful job of keeping you enagaged .
I had been for one night stay with family ,me my wife and 2 kids .Santosh ji gave us lot of adventure activities to do .Also we had fun with a night trek , karoake singing , and camp fire .However it will be more fun if its a bigger group .This camping is more suited for 4-5 trek where this is the base camp.Though tenting is excellent and they have sleeping bags blanket etc ,its better that you understand the temperature ,terrain etc before you venture .Food is excellent .

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rganesh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TejbirSingh, Owner at Snow Monk Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We are grateful for a wonderful review and even happy that you had a great time at the camp. Our gratitude for appreciating the staff, food, activities and the pristine beauty of our unknown camp which is a hidden jewel in the Dhauladhar Himalaya so close to Mcleodganj. We look forward to have you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews