We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge in a rugged location”
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

All Volcanoes lodges are top notch and Bwindi lodge is no exception. The only reason to be at this lodge is to go gorilla trekking. They have a short forest walk from the lodge which is not much and the village outside the gate is mainly to sell gifts - actually the only place on our Volcanoes safaris to buy anything. If you have a choice, do all of your gorilla trekking in Volcanoes NP. Bwindi Impenetrable Forest lives up to its name. It is dense and the hills are steep. Why beat yourself up if you can visit the gorillas with much less effort. But, that being said, Bwindi Lodge is wonderful

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Bwindi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

Never mind that it's in a great location and beautifully decorated. The first day we arrived the gorillas came right into the lodge. It was amazing. The next day when we did our gorilla trek we ended up back at our lodge as the were walking about there. The food was very good and I'm a vegetarian. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We were on Volcanoes Safari 8 day trip and it was spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank konatourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We were the only guests staying at the lodge as our base for gorilla tracking in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. I thought the staff were joking when they pointed to the beautiful mountains surrounding the lodge and told me that 's where we climbed .... we really did! It was one of the most physically challenging things I've ever done but also one of the most rewarding emotionally.
The first night we were so pleasantly surprised with the hot water bottle under the covers! Reminded me of my childhood and guaranteed a great night's sleep.
Definitely the place to stay in Bwindi!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KFM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Bwindi lodge is an amazing place to go gorilla trekking from. The lodge is located right on the border with the forest which means that the Bwindi forest is your view every morning when you wake up.

The staff are truly incredible. When we arrived, we had lost our luggage and one of the staff actually lent my husband a pair of his own pants to use for gorilla trekking. You are treated with such warmth with every exchange with the staff. They even give you a free massage after your trek.

The hotel cares about the environment which is evident through many things such as solar power. My husband's favourite touch was the hot water bottle in his bed at night. Bwindi isn't particularly cold for us Canadians but the temperature can require a sweater at night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janeypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

What an amazing place with the most fantastic views...... the service, the food, the accommodation and the views were exceptional !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWWKWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
18.5 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
0.4 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
11.4 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
194 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
227 reviews
11.0 km away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the primeval Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge is the finest luxury lodge at Bwindi. With dramatic intense views of the forest canopy across a serene stream, it is one of Africa’s unique properties. The gorillas frequently come to relax in the verdant bush around the lodge! The lodge is perfectly located for a Uganda jungle gorilla tracking experience. The lodge boasts eight large bandas facing the forest. Each of the guest bandas has a sitting area, a terrace and an en-suite luxury shower room. The main living area has a central fireplace which acts as a focal point for guests to relax and discuss their gorilla tracking experience. A large terrace overlooking the forest is a great place to spot the monkeys and birds hidden in the foliage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing