We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic experience in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed 8 May 2017

If you are looking for an intimate bush-style retreat in Johannesburg, then look no further. I spent a night at Idwala Boutique Hotel with my family and left feeling thoroughly relaxed. It is easily accessible, near Cresta Shopping Centre, and consists of charming, comfortable rondawels set in beautiful gardens. The rooms have underfloor heating and heated towel rails. The breakfast and dinner were delicious and the service was attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara_E_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you Sara for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala - we really appreciate this and are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel.
Best wishes from the Idwala Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Greeted by warm, friendly staff. Beautiful room and bathroom. Excellent fine dining. I had a delicious kingklip and hubby had a pork belly. Ended the evening with hot drinks in front of lovely boma. Well manicured gardens and a perfect getaway from the hustle of the city. A must visit. Such a gem. I don't believe my 7 year old would have appreciated the tranquility though.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

So glad to hear that you enjoyed this special getaway and thank you for your appreciation of our fine dining kitchen!! We hope to see you back at Idwala for your next anniversary - if not sooner!
Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I completely lucked out as I booked so quickly during an intensely busy work period.
Jeanette, the owner, arranged for a pickup at the airport by Khaliso for my flight from NYC, who I used for getting around the next two days. Jeanette greeted me upon arrival and the next two days I totally relaxed. The rooms were immaculate and so charming! The staff, particularly Maria, were warm and accommodating. My first evening meal was Kingklip; a new fish to me and was prepared so perfectly, I determined to eat again the next night. The chef, Paul, prepared prawns that were absolutely spectacular. Though I doubt I will be in Johannesburg any time soon again, I would relish the opportunity to stay at Idwala.

Room Tip: The kraal type construction cottage is what I had and it was beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barronconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala - we are delighted that you enjoyed our meals so much and that you found our staff to be so pleasant and helpful - this is what we aim for at Idwala, and it is really rewarding to receive such appreciation from our guests! We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa and look forward to a future visit! With best regards from all at Idwala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay at Idwala. People at the hotel are very friendly. Food is especially exclusieve. Clean room, comfortable bed.
Really each and every person is really kind and whatever request we had, we immedieately got a response.
Very recommended place to stay if you are in Johannesburg.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much Stefan for your review of Idwala, I so appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience during your long stay with us. I hope that you had a good trip home and that your wife is now fully recovered. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future! Best regards from the Idwala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Idwala ticks all the boxes as mentioned in the reviews, beautiful place with friendly staff. Once upon a time they surely deserved being a 5 star guesthouse. So why am I giving 1 star for a 5 star certified facility?

Let me quote from their website: "Idwala’s passion is to care for guests who are looking for the finer things in life." Here they fail dismally.

And the reason? Lack of supervision and quality control. "You cannot expect what you don't inspect" is the golden rule in the hospitality industry. The mostly absent manager (or owner) should step up or step out.

1. Safe not working and still not fixed on day 2.
2. The kitchen needs more staff and training. They take forever to prepare your breakfast, get the orders wrong (this happened at a previous stay as well) and at both my stays there would be long periods without any staff in the dining room. Both times I found the waiters working in the kitchen to get orders out.
3. The two rooms I stayed in are not upgraded to accommodate charging phones and laptops. Don't expect a wall plug, two point plug or USB close enough to your bed. You will need a lead extension. Wall plugs and extensions are few and overloaded.
4. Very limited TV channels. No CNN, Sky, RT or any other news stations other than eTV, a few Mnet channels and SABC.
5. Expired dates of snacks in bar. The unsealed cookies in the jar with no expiry date were so hard I had to soak them in in my coffee.
6. My bathroom wasn't cleaned on the second day and I had to find someone for soap and shampoo. Very frustrating as I was preparing for evening meetings.
7. No air-conditioning.
8. With little effort and TLC, fresh decor etc. including deep cleaning showers and focusing more on hygiene (see pic of my shower); proper staff training and above all, quality control, this run down place can become a 5 Star establishment again. Currently I would rate it a 3 Star guesthouse.
9. Unfortunately I moved out on day 2 and booked into another place managed professionally. I was offered 50% refund for rates paid in advance.
10. If non of the above bothers you, you will love this place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank royboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Pastor Harris

Thank you for taking so much of your valuable time to give us feedback on your experience at Idwala. We are of course sorry that our hotel was not a good match for you.

As I personally told you after breakfast, we regret that you did not enjoy the meal you had, and I apologise once again for the fact that your eggs were not done as you requested.

Kind regards
Jeanette & the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
2.6 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
6.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
342 reviews
3.7 km away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
3.2 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: €121 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing